⚠️ ATTENTION: Need to register or title your motorcycle? Be prepared to satisfy any insurance requirements. Click below for a free insurance quote.
Please enter your ZIP to get started:
This page will answer the most common questions we receive about motorcycle laws and licensing requirements in Texas.
Continue reading to find your answer and follow links to explore some of these topics in greater depth.
Texas Motorcycle Helmet Laws
Motorcycle helmets are required for riders under 21 years old in Texas.
This includes both motorcycle operators and passengers on the motorcycles.
However, riders 21 years old and older are also required to wear a helmet unless they have either:
- Completed an approved TX motorcycle rider course.
- Have medical insurance coverage of at least $10,000.
Additional eye protection like a face shield or goggles is not required, but recommended.
A motorcycle helmet is one of the most important pieces of safety equipment. Wearing one can greatly reduce your chances of being seriously injured or killed if you are involved in a motorcycle crash.
Read more about motorcycle helmet laws and safety.
TX Helmet Law Enforcement
While the law requires certain riders to wear a motorcycle helmet, enforcement is typically secondary.
Police officers will likely not pull you over and ticket you for not wearing a motorcycle helmet.
However, if you are pulled over for another reason, you may also receive additional penalties if you were required to be wearing a helmet.
Requirements to Not Wear a Helmet in Texas
As stated above, you will not be required to wear a motorcycle helmet if you are at least 21 years of age, and meet one of the following conditions:
- You have completed an approved motorcycle training course.
- You have medical insurance that will cover your injuries in the even t of an accident (at least $10,000 coverage).
Texas Motorcycle Noise Restrictions & Exhaust Requirements
A proper muffler is not specifically required, but the motorcycle cannot make excessive noise.
Noise restrictions may be enforced by local law enforcement or during periodic inspections.
Local jurisdictions may have their own ordinances regarding motorcycle noise limits.
Motorcycle Safety Inspections and Equipment Requirements
Period safety and equipment inspections for motorcycles in Texas are performed during each registration period.
Some of the equipment requirements for Texas motorcycles include:
- Rearview mirror.
- Handlebars no more than 15” above seat.
Motorcycle Passenger Laws in Texas
You cannot ride with a passenger under 5 years old.
Whenever you ride with a passenger:
- Be sure to give them instructions on what they’ll need to do.
- Make sure they can comfortably reach the passenger handholds and footrests.
- Make sure that they are wearing all of the necessary motorcycle safety equipment.
Learn more about riding with passengers on your motorcycle.
Requirements for Daytime Running Lights for Motorcycles in Texas
Using daytime headlights is required for motorcycles in Texas.
Using headlights during the day can help to increase your visibility to other drivers.
This is a smart thing to do regardless of whether the law requires it.
Texas Lane Splitting Laws
Lane splitting is not specifically mentioned as legal or illegal in Texas.
There are some nuances to lane splitting, lane filtering, and lane sharing.
Learn more about lane splitting.
Motorcycle Title Laws & VIN Verifications
The state of Texas issues titles to all motorcycles.
VIN verifications are required in order to register a bike from another state.
Learn more about motorcycle registration and title requirements in Texas.
Find some helpful tips for when you buy a motorcycle.
Minimum Motorcycle Insurance Coverage in Texas
Motorcycle insurance is required in Texas, the minimum coverage limits are:
- $60,000 bodily injury coverage per person.
- $25,000 bodily injury coverage per accident.
- $30,000 property damage coverage per accident.
Remember, the minimum liability requirements kick in during the event of a collision with another vehicle. If you need more coverage for things like theft, single vehicle collisions, and other types of damage you’ll need to get a policy with comprehensive and collision coverage as well.
Compare quotes for free, and find cheaper motorcycle insurance.
Learn more about motorcycle insurance in Texas.
Motorcycle Safety Course Requirements & Details
An approved motorcycle safety course is required to get a motorcycle license in Texas.
Completing the course will waive the requirements for the skills test and written exam.
A motorcycle safety course is a great way to get familiar with the basics of riding, learn about the most important motorcycle laws, and become a safer, smarter rider. No riding experience is necessary to complete a course.
Learn more about motorcycle safety courses and Basic Rider Training programs.
Is a Driver’s License Required to get a Motorcycle Endorsement in Texas?
Before you get a Texas motorcycle license, you will not need to already have a standard driver’s license.
Motorcycle Permit & Licensing Requirements in Texas
A motorcycle instruction permit is not required.
In order to get the permit, you’ll need to pass a written test.
In Texas, motorcycle permit restrictions include supervised riding requirements.
The permit is valid for up to the 2nd birthday after it was issued.
Texas Motorcycle License Age Requirements
The minimum age to begin the Texas motorcycle licensing process is 15 years old.