ATTENTION: Are you complying with your state's insurance laws? Make sure your coverage satisfies your state's requirements. Click below to compare coverage.
Please enter your zip to get started:
This page will answer the most common questions we receive about motorcycle laws and licensing requirements in Utah.
Continue reading to find your answer and follow links to explore some of these topics in greater depth.
Motorcycle Helmet Law in Utah
Motorcycle helmets are required for riders under 21 years old.
Additional eye protection like a face shield or goggles is not required, but is smart to use.
A motorcycle helmet is one of the most important pieces of safety equipment. Wearing one can greatly reduce your chances of being seriously injured or killed if you are involved in a motorcycle crash.
Read more about motorcycle helmet laws and safety.
Utah Motorcycle Noise Restrictions & Exhaust Requirements
A proper muffler is not specifically required.
Noise restrictions may be enforced by local law enforcement or during periodic inspections.
Local jurisdictions may have their own ordinances regarding motorcycle noise limits.
Motorcycle Safety Inspections and Equipment Requirements
Period safety and equipment inspections for motorcycles in Utah are performed during the registration period.
Some of the equipment requirements for Utah motorcycles include:
- Left side mirror.
- Fenders on each wheel.
- Handlebar grips no higher than rider’s shoulders.
- Turn signals.
Motorcycle Passenger Laws in Utah
There are no passenger age restrictions in Utah.
Whenever you ride with a passenger:
- Be sure to give them instructions on what they’ll need to do.
- Make sure they can comfortably reach the passenger handholds and footrests.
- Make sure that they are wearing all of the necessary motorcycle safety equipment.
Learn more about riding with passengers on your motorcycle.
Requirements for Daytime Running Lights for Motorcycles in Utah
Using daytime headlights is required for motorcycles in Utah.
Using headlights during the day can help to increase your visibility to other drivers.
This is a smart thing to do regardless of whether the law requires it.
Utah Lane Splitting Laws
Lane filtering is permitted in Utah.
There are some nuances to lane splitting, lane filtering, and lane sharing.
Learn more about lane splitting.
Motorcycle Title Laws & VIN Verifications
The state of Utah issues titles to all motorcycles.
VIN verifications are required for out-of-state motorcycles being registered in Utah.
If you buy a motorcycle without a title or are moving from a state that doesn’t issue titles, the registration documents and the Bill of Sale should serve as proof of ownership.
Learn more about motorcycle registration and title requirements in Utah.
Find some helpful tips for when you buy a motorcycle.
Minimum Motorcycle Insurance Coverage in Utah
Motorcycle insurance is required in Utah, the minimum coverage limits are:
- $25,000 bodily injury coverage per person.
- $60,000 bodily injury coverage per accident.
- $15,000 property damage coverage per accident.
Remember, the minimum liability requirements kick in during the event of a collision with another vehicle. If you need more coverage for things like theft, single vehicle collisions, and other types of damage you’ll need to get a policy with comprehensive and collision coverage as well.
Compare quotes for free, and find cheaper motorcycle insurance.
Learn more about motorcycle insurance in Utah.
Motorcycle Safety Course Requirements & Details
An approved motorcycle safety course is not required to get a motorcycle license in Utah.
Completing the course will waive the requirements for the motorcycle skills test.
A motorcycle safety course is a great way to get familiar with the basics of riding, learn about the most important motorcycle laws, and become a safer, smarter rider. No riding experience is necessary to complete a course.
Learn more about motorcycle safety courses and Basic Rider Training programs.
Is a Driver’s License Required to get a Motorcycle Endorsement in Utah?
Before you get a Utah motorcycle license, you will need to already have a standard driver’s license.
Motorcycle Permit & Licensing Requirements in Utah
A motorcycle instruction permit is required for riders under 19 years old.
If required, you’ll need to hold the learner’s permit and practice riding for at least 2 months if you are under 19 before getting an unrestricted motorcycle license. There is no time requirement if you complete the MSF basic rider course.
In order to get the permit, you’ll need to pass a written test.
In Utah, motorcycle permit restrictions include:
- No passengers.
- Daytime riding only.
- Restricted to riding on roads with posted speed limit of under 60 mph.
The permit is valid for up to 6 months, and can be renewed if needed.
Learn how to get a motorcycle license in Utah.
Utah Motorcycle License Age Requirements
The minimum age to begin the Utah motorcycle licensing process is 16 years 2 months old without training or 16 years old if you complete a motorcycle safety course.