⚠️ ATTENTION: Be prepared to satisfy any insurance requirements when taking care of tasks for your motorcycle. Click below for a free insurance quote.
Please answer the questions below to get started:
This page will answer the most common questions we receive about motorcycle laws and licensing requirements in Vermont.
Continue reading to find your answer and follow links to explore some of these topics in greater depth.
Motorcycle Helmet Law in Vermont
Motorcycle helmets are required for all riders.
Additionally, eye protection like a face shield or goggles is required unless the bike has a windshield.
A motorcycle helmet is one of the most important pieces of safety equipment. Wearing one can greatly reduce your chances of being seriously injured or killed if you are involved in a motorcycle crash.
Read more about motorcycle helmet laws and safety.
Vermont Motorcycle Noise Restrictions & Exhaust Requirements
A proper muffler is not specifically required, but can be no louder than the factory OEM exhaust.
Noise restrictions may be enforced by local law enforcement or during periodic inspections.
Local jurisdictions may have their own ordinances regarding motorcycle noise limits.
Motorcycle Safety Inspections and Equipment Requirements
Period safety and equipment inspections for motorcycles in Vermont are performed with each registration period.
Some of the equipment requirements for Vermont motorcycles include:
- Rearview mirror.
- Handlebars no higher than 15” above the seat.
Motorcycle Passenger Laws in Vermont
There are no motorcycle passenger restrictions in Vermont.
Whenever you ride with a passenger:
- Be sure to give them instructions on what they’ll need to do.
- Make sure they can comfortably reach the passenger handholds and footrests.
- Make sure that they are wearing all of the necessary motorcycle safety equipment.
Learn more about riding with passengers on your motorcycle.
Requirements for Daytime Running Lights for Motorcycles in Vermont
Using daytime headlights is not required for motorcycles in Vermont.
Using headlights during the day can help to increase your visibility to other drivers.
This is a smart thing to do regardless of whether the law requires it.
Vermont Lane Splitting Laws
Lane splitting is illegal in Vermont.
There are some nuances to lane splitting, lane filtering, and lane sharing.
Learn more about lane splitting.
Motorcycle Title Laws & VIN Verifications
The state of Vermont issues titles to all motorcycles, except bikes that are older than 15 years or less than 300cc.
VIN verifications are required for out-of-state motorcycles with engines over 300cc.
Learn more about motorcycle registration and title requirements in Vermont.
Find some helpful tips for when you buy a motorcycle.
Minimum Motorcycle Insurance Coverage in Vermont
Motorcycle insurance is required in Vermont, the minimum coverage limits are:
- $25,000 bodily injury coverage per person.
- $50,000 bodily injury coverage per accident.
- $10,000 property damage coverage per accident.
Remember, the minimum liability requirements kick in during the event of a collision with another vehicle. If you need more coverage for things like theft, single vehicle collisions, and other types of damage you’ll need to get a policy with comprehensive and collision coverage as well.
Compare quotes for free, and find cheaper motorcycle insurance.
Learn more about motorcycle insurance in Vermont.
Motorcycle Safety Course Requirements & Details
An approved motorcycle safety course is not required to get a motorcycle license in Vermont.
Completing the course will waive the requirements for the skills test and written knowledge exam.
A motorcycle safety course is a great way to get familiar with the basics of riding, learn about the most important motorcycle laws, and become a safer, smarter rider. No riding experience is necessary to complete a course.
Learn more about motorcycle safety courses and Basic Rider Training programs.
Is a Driver’s License Required to get a Motorcycle Endorsement in Vermont?
Before you get a Vermont motorcycle license, you will need to already have a standard driver’s license.
Motorcycle Permit & Licensing Requirements in Vermont
A motorcycle instruction permit is not required.
In order to get the permit, you’ll need to pass a written test.
In Vermont, motorcycle permit restrictions include:
- No passengers.
- Daytime riding only.
- Riding restricted to Vermont only.
The permit is valid for up to 120 days, and can be renewed twice.
Vermont Motorcycle License Age Requirements
The minimum age to begin the Vermont motorcycle licensing process is 16 years old.