In order to ride your motorcycle on public roadways in Arkansas, you’ll need to make sure it is registered and that your registration is valid.
When you buy a motorcycle, you’ll first need to transfer the title and get an insurance policy. Next, you’ll need to get it registered and get your Arkansas motorcycle license plates and stickers.
Note, you should also be sure to have a valid Arkansas motorcycle license when you register your motorcycle too.
This page will provide you with an overview of the steps to register a motorcycle in Arkansas for the first time, and then we’ll go over your options for renewing your motorcycle registration before it expires.
Remember, your registration documents and proof of insurance should be kept on your bike when you ride.
Arkansas Motorcycle Registration Steps
Registering a motorcycle in Arkansas is basically the same process as registering any other vehicle.
If necessary, you’ll also need to complete any motorcycle inspections as required by the AR DMV.
How to register a motorcycle in Arkansas:
- Have a VIN verification performed if registering an out of state motorcycle or a motorcycle with a title brand.
- Present the MCO or title.
- Present the Bill of Sale or Trade-in information.
- Provide the odometer statement, if applicable.
- Assessment from your county assessor’s office.
- Proof of personal property taxes.
- Proof of motorcycle insurance.
- Payment for the registration fees and taxes.
If you’ve recently moved to Arkansas or have recently purchased a motorcycle, you’ll need to title and register it within 30 days.
Renew Motorcycle Registration in Arkansas
In order to avoid any traffic tickets or late fees, you’ll want to make sure that your Arkansas motorcycle registration and license plate stickers are valid.
You’ll need to renew your Arkansas motorcycle tags each year.
Your options for renewing your Arkansas motorcycle registration include:
- Online: http://www.arstar.com/
- By mail.
- By phone.
- In person at any revenue office.
The information and items you’ll need in order to complete your motorcycle registration renewal include:
- Current tax assessment.
- Renewal Reminder with your Renewal Identification Number.
- License plate number, VIN, and ZIP code.
- Your personal information and address.
- Payment for your renewal fees.
Depending on the type of bike you have, you may also need to complete the necessary motorcycle inspections when you renew your motorcycle registration.
Arkansas Motorcycle Insurance
In addition to renewing your motorcycle registration, you’ll also want to make sure that your motorcycle insurance policy is up to date.
Your annual registration renewal is a great time to compare motorcycle insurance quotes and check for cheaper rates.
How much does it cost to register a motorcycle in Arkansas?
The fees for Arkansas motorcycle registration are as follows:
- Motorcycle registration (250cc +): $7.50
- Motorcycle registration (under 250cc): $3.
- License plate decal: $2.50.
For more information about Arkansas motorcycle registration and registration renewals, check out the official DMV website at: https://www.dfa.arkansas.gov/services/category/vehicles/
Need more information? Check out our overview of the requirements for motorcycle titles and registrations in Arkansas.