Home » How to Register a Motorcycle » How to Register a Motorcycle in Mississippi

Help me MotorcycleZombies, you're my only hope!

How to Register a Motorcycle in Mississippi


Taking care of a task for your license or motorcycle? Be prepared to satisfy any motorcycle insurance requirements.

Please enter your ZIP to get your insurance quote.

In order to ride your motorcycle on public roadways in Mississippi, you’ll need to make sure it is registered and that your registration is valid. 

When you buy a motorcycle, you’ll first need to transfer the title and get an insurance policy. Next, you’ll need to get it registered and get your Mississippi motorcycle license plates and stickers. 

Note, you should also be sure to have a valid Mississippi motorcycle license when you register your motorcycle too. 

This page will provide you with an overview of the steps to register a motorcycle in Mississippi for the first time, and then we’ll go over your options for renewing your motorcycle registration before it expires. 

Remember, your registration documents and proof of insurance should be kept on your bike when you ride. 

Mississippi Motorcycle Registration Steps

Registering a motorcycle in Mississippi is basically the same process as registering any other vehicle.

If necessary, you’ll also need to complete any motorcycle inspections as required by the Mississippi DMV.

How to register a motorcycle in Mississippi:

  1. Visit your local county tax collector’s office. 
  2. Complete a registration application. 
  3. Provide proof of ownership.
  4. Provide proof of your identity and address.
  5. Provide proof of insurance.
  6. Pay your registration fees and taxes. 

If you’ve recently purchased a motorcycle, you’ll need to register it within 7 business days. 

If you’ve just moved to Mississippi, you’ll have up to 30 days to register your motorcycle. 

Renew Motorcycle Registration in Mississippi

In order to avoid any traffic tickets or late fees, you’ll want to make sure that your Mississippi motorcycle registration and license plate stickers are valid. 

You’ll have until the 16th day of the month following your registration expiration date to renew your tags without facing a late fee.

Your options for renewing your Mississippi motorcycle registration include:

The information and items you’ll need in order to complete your motorcycle registration renewal include:

  • Your motorcycle tag number. 
  • Your title number or VIN.
  • Your personal info and current address. 
  • Payment for your renewal fees and taxes. 

Depending on the type of bike you have, you may also need to complete the necessary motorcycle inspections when you renew your motorcycle registration. 

Mississippi Motorcycle Insurance

In addition to renewing your motorcycle registration, you’ll also want to make sure that your motorcycle insurance policy is up to date. 

Your annual registration renewal is a great time to compare motorcycle insurance quotes and check for cheaper rates

How much does it cost to register a motorcycle in Mississippi?

The fees for Mississippi motorcycle registration are as follows:

  • First time registration: $14.
  • Registration renewal: $12.75
  • Local fees and taxes may vary. 

For more information about Mississippi motorcycle registration and registration renewals, check out the official DMV website at: https://www.dor.ms.gov/Pages/default.aspx 

Need more information? Check out our overview of the requirements for motorcycle titles and registrations in Mississippi.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *