ATTENTION: Taking a Basic Rider Course? You may qualify for an insurance discount. Click below for a free quote.
Please enter your zip to get started:
Completing a Tennessee motorcycle safety course is one of the best ways to learn how to ride.
You’ll gain the knowledge and skills necessary to build a foundation of safe-riding techniques that are designed to keep you out-of-trouble when you ride.
That’s not the only reason to take a course though, completing an approved motorcycle safety program may have other benefits as well, including:
- Waiving your motorcycle endorsement tests.
- Earning a discount on your motorcycle insurance.
Learn more about the Tennessee motorcycle safety course requirements and benefits below.
Tennessee Motorcycle Training Course Details
In order to enroll in a class, you’ll either need a valid driver’s license or be eligible for a TN motorcycle permit.
Completing a course will satisfy your motorcycle knowledge and skills test requirements.
Prior to your first day of class, you’ll usually need to have completed the online MSF eCourse.
When you arrive for your skills portion of the course, you’ll need to wear:
- A DOT-approved motorcycle helmet.
- Eye protection.
- A long-sleeve shirt or protective jacket.
- Long pants made of durable material with snug-fitting cuffs.
- Sturdy boots that cover your ankles.
- Full finger protective gloves.
For more details about motorcycle training courses in Tennessee, please contact your local training provider or the Tennessee DMV.
How long is the Tennessee motorcycle safety course?
The Tennessee motorcycle safety course typically consists of a total of 16 hours, including:
- 5 hours of online classroom instruction.
- 11 hours of hands-on skill training.
Depending on the course provider, you may be able to complete the program over 2 or 3 days.
How much is the Tennessee motorcycle safety course?
A course generally costs about $250.
Find a Motorcycle Training Course Near You in Tennessee
In order to find a motorcycle training course that will satisfy the Tennessee motorcycle endorsement and testing requirements, you’ll need to enroll in a course that is approved by the DPS.
To find a course near you, visit: https://www.tn.gov/safety/driver-services/classm/mreplocations.html
What is covered in the rider training course?
The curriculum and exercises for your motorcycle safety course are developed by the Motorcycle Safety Foundation (MSF), the Tennessee motorcycle safety and training coordinator and its administering agency.
During your course, you’ll gain hands-on riding experience along with classroom instruction.
The online classroom portion will generally consist of 5 hours, including a motorcycle knowledge exam.
The hands-on training will typically last for 11 hours over 2 days, and end with a skills evaluation.
The classroom portion of the course will cover topics including:
- Tennessee motorcycle license requirements.
- Tennessee motorcycle laws.
- Basic motorcycle safety.
- Motorcycle riding gear.
- Motorcycle helmet laws.
- Assessing risks and avoiding hazards.
The hands-on training will cover:
- Basic operation of a motorcycle.
- Motorcycle start up procedures.
- Using the clutch and shifting.
- Starting and stopping.
- Low-speed maneuvers.
- Turning, curves, and leaning.
- Quick stops.
- Multiple curves and changing lanes.
- Swerving and crossing obstacles.
A Tennessee-approved course is one of the best ways to learn to ride a motorcycle.
The Tennessee motorcycle safety course will conclude with a knowledge test based on the classroom instruction and a skills test where you’ll need to demonstrate a combination of the maneuvers and exercises you’ve practiced during the hands-on training.
Once you complete each test for the program, you’ll receive your course completion card.
Insurance Discounts for Completing a Motorcycle Safety Course in Tennessee
Completing a Tennessee motorcycle safety course is not only a great way to develop safe riding techniques, it can also help you earn a discount on your motorcycle insurance premiums.
Since riders who complete a training course are less likely to cause a crash, many insurance providers will offer those riders lower rates.
In Tennessee, riders can earn a 10% insurance discount that’s effective for 3 years.
After you complete your course, be sure to check with your current motorcycle insurance agent or compare a few different quotes to see how much you can save after completing a safety course.
Start comparing quotes for free here at MotorcycleZombies.com!
Learn more about the motorcycle insurance requirements in Tennessee.
Get Your Motorcycle Endorsement in Tennessee
Now that you know the details for the Tennessee motorcycle safety program, you’re ready to apply for your motorcycle endorsement.
MotorcycleZombies.com has the information you need to get started! Check out our related articles at the links below: