ATTENTION: Taking a Basic Rider Course? You may qualify for an insurance discount. Click below for a free quote.
Please enter your zip to get started:
Completing a Utah motorcycle safety course is one of the best ways to learn how to ride.
You’ll gain the knowledge and skills necessary to build a foundation of safe-riding techniques that are designed to keep you out-of-trouble when you ride.
That’s not the only reason to take a course though, completing an approved motorcycle safety program may have other benefits as well, including:
- Waiving your motorcycle endorsement tests.
- Earning a discount on your motorcycle insurance.
Learn more about the Utah motorcycle safety course requirements and benefits below.
Utah Motorcycle Training Course Details
To be eligible for the course you’ll need to hold a valid driver’s license, learner’s permit, or meet the eligibility requirements for a motorcycle permit.
The minimum age to enroll is 15 ½ years old.
Successfully completing an approved course will waive your motorcycle skills test requirement with the UT DPS.
If you are under 19 years old, completing an MSF course will waive the 2-months holding time for the motorcycle permit.
Before you arrive for the first day of class, you’ll need to complete 3 hours of online learning material.
If you want a motorcycle endorsement for a bike with an engine size of 650cc or larger, you’ll need to bring your own motorcycle for the last day of testing.
When you arrive for your skills portion of the course, you’ll need to wear:
- A DOT-approved motorcycle helmet.
- Eye protection.
- A long-sleeve shirt or protective jacket.
- Long pants made of durable material with snug-fitting cuffs.
- Sturdy boots that cover your ankles.
- Full finger protective gloves.
For more details about motorcycle training courses in Utah, please contact your local training provider or the Utah DMV.
How long is the Utah motorcycle safety course?
The Utah motorcycle safety course typically consists of a total of 15 hours, including:
- 5 hours of classroom instruction.
- 10 hours of hands-on skill training.
Depending on the course provider, you may be able to complete the program over 2 or 3 days.
How much is the Utah motorcycle safety course?
The tuition for a UT motorcycle class is typically $220 plus $20 for the online eCourse.
Find a Motorcycle Training Course Near You in Utah
In order to find a motorcycle training course that will satisfy the Utah motorcycle endorsement and testing requirements, you’ll need to enroll in a course that is approved by the DPS.
To find a course near you, visit: https://dld.utah.gov/motorcycle-course/
Classes are offered by Utah Rider Education, Salt Lake Community College, and Dixie State University at locations in:
- South Jordan.
- Park City.
- St. George.
What is covered in the rider training course?
The curriculum and exercises for your motorcycle safety course are developed by the Motorcycle Safety Foundation (MSF), the Utah motorcycle safety and training coordinator and its administering agency.
During your course, you’ll gain hands-on riding experience along with classroom instruction.
The classroom portion will generally consist of 5 hours, including a motorcycle knowledge exam.
The hands-on training will typically last for 10 hours over 2 days, and end with a skills evaluation.
The classroom portion of the course will cover topics including:
- Utah motorcycle license requirements.
- Utah motorcycle laws.
- Basic motorcycle safety.
- Motorcycle riding gear.
- Motorcycle helmet laws.
- Assessing risks and avoiding hazards.
The hands-on training will cover:
- Basic operation of a motorcycle.
- Motorcycle start up procedures.
- Using the clutch and shifting.
- Starting and stopping.
- Low-speed maneuvers.
- Turning, curves, and leaning.
- Quick stops.
- Multiple curves and changing lanes.
- Swerving and crossing obstacles.
A Utah-approved course is one of the best ways to learn to ride a motorcycle.
The Utah motorcycle safety course will conclude with a knowledge test based on the classroom instruction and a skills test where you’ll need to demonstrate a combination of the maneuvers and exercises you’ve practiced during the hands-on training.
Once you complete each test for the program, you’ll receive your course completion card.
Insurance Discounts for Completing a Motorcycle Safety Course in Utah
Completing a Utah motorcycle safety course is not only a great way to develop safe riding techniques, it can also help you earn a discount on your motorcycle insurance premiums.
Since riders who complete a training course are less likely to cause a crash, many insurance providers will offer those riders lower rates.
After you complete your course, be sure to check with your current motorcycle insurance agent or compare a few different quotes to see how much you can save after completing a safety course.
Start comparing quotes for free here at MotorcycleZombies.com!
Learn more about the motorcycle insurance requirements in Utah.
Get Your Motorcycle Endorsement in Utah
Now that you know the details for the Utah motorcycle safety program, you’re ready to apply for your motorcycle endorsement.
MotorcycleZombies.com has the information you need to get started! Check out our related articles at the links below: