ATTENTION: Do you ride a scooter or moped? Make sure you satisfy any insurance requirements for your state. Click below for a free quote.
Please enter your zip to get started:
If you want to ride your 50cc moped on public streets, you’ll need to make sure to satisfy the licensing and registration requirements of your state Department of Motor Vehicles (DMV).
Moped laws vary slightly from state to state.
However, for the purposes of simplification of the licensing process, we’ll define mopeds as 2-wheel vehicles without pedals that are powered by engines of less than 50cc and can travel at speeds of no more than 30mph.
For licensing purposes, some states treat mopeds as motorcycles, while others may allow them to be driven with just a standard driver’s license.
Some states break down their motorcycle endorsement into classes by engine CC.
Where the full motorcycle endorsement allows the rider to ride any size motorcycle, and the lower classes restrict the rider to motorcycles or mopeds under a certain engine size.
What is a Moped License?
A moped license allows you to ride your moped scooter on public surface streets, unless prohibited.
Depending on the state you live in, you’ll either need:
- A motorcycle endorsement.
- A standard driver’s license.
- A moped permit (typically available for new riders under 18 years old).
In most states, you’ll also need to be at least 16 years old.
Each state has a slightly different definitions of a moped, but most define mopeds as:
- A 2-3 wheeled vehicle with a seat or saddle for the rider.
- Having an engine of no more than 50cc.
- Having an automatic transmission that does not require shifting.
- Having a top speed of 30 mph on flat, level ground.
- May or may not have pedals.
What license do you need to drive a moped?
Refer to the table below to find the license laws for >50cc mopeds in each state. For official information, please visit your state DMV website.
Depending on your state, you’ll either need to hold a valid driver’s license or a motorcycle endorsement.
|State||Minimum License for a Moped (>50cc & >30mph)|
|Alabama||“B” restricted motorcycle license|
|Alaska||M2 motorcycle license or valid driver’s license|
|Arizona||Standard driver’s license|
|Arkansas||Class M or MD license or standard driver’s license|
|California||M1 motorcycle license|
|Colorado||Standard driver’s license|
|Connecticut||Standard driver’s license|
|Delaware||Standard driver’s license|
|Florida||Standard driver’s license|
|Georgia||Standard driver’s license|
|Hawaii||Standard driver’s license|
|Idaho||Standard driver’s license|
|Illinois||Standard driver’s license|
|Indiana||Standard driver’s license Motor-driven cycle endorsement|
|Iowa||Standard driver’s license|
|Kansas||Standard driver’s license|
|Kentucky||Standard driver’s license|
|Louisiana||Standard driver’s license|
|Maine||Standard driver’s license or moped permit|
|Maryland||Standard driver’s license|
|Massachusetts||Standard driver’s license|
|Michigan||Standard driver’s license or moped permit|
|Minnesota||Standard driver’s license or moped permit|
|Missouri||Standard driver’s license|
|Montana||Standard driver’s license|
|Nebraska||Standard driver’s license|
|Nevada||Standard driver’s license|
|New Hampshire||Standard driver’s license or moped permit|
|New Jersey||Standard driver’s license|
|New Mexico||Standard driver’s license|
|New York||Standard driver’s license|
|North Carolina||Be at least 16 years old|
|North Dakota||Standard driver’s license or moped permit|
|Ohio||Standard driver’s license|
|Oklahoma||Standard driver’s license|
|Oregon||Standard driver’s license|
|Pennsylvania||Standard driver’s license|
|Rhode Island||Standard driver’s license|
|South Carolina||Standard driver’s license or motorcycle endorsement|
|South Dakota||Standard driver’s license|
|Tennessee||Standard driver’s license|
|Vermont||Standard driver’s license|
|Virginia||Must carry a government issued ID card while riding|
|Washington||Standard driver’s license|
|Washington DC||Standard driver’s license|
|West Virginia||Standard driver’s license|
|Wisconsin||Standard driver’s license or moped permit|
|Wyoming||Standard driver’s license|
State Moped Laws for License & Registration
How to Get a Moped License
Where a specific moped license is required, the application process is basically the same as getting a motorcycle license.
Here’s what you’ll need to do:
- Visit your local DMV office.
- Complete a new motorcycle/moped license application.
- Provide proof of your identity, age, legal presence, and residency.
- Pass a vision exam.
- Pass a written motorcycle test.
- Pass a skills test or complete an approved rider training course.
- Pay the application fees.