ATTENTION: Do you ride a scooter or moped? Make sure you satisfy any insurance requirements for your state. Click below for a free quote.
Please enter your zip to get started:
If you’ve got a short commute or need a fun, convenient way to get around town, mopeds are an excellent choice.
They’re easy to ride, have great gas mileage, and are affordable to purchase and maintain.
This page will cover the basic requirements for riding a moped in Alabama.
If you already have a valid Alabama motorcycle license, you’ll definitely be ready to ride a moped or <50cc scooter. In fact, that’s typically the safest route to go.
Alabama Moped Laws for <50cc Scooters
In order to ride a moped legally in Alabama, you’ll need to be sure to follow the rules and regulations. Failing to do so could result in traffic tickets, fines, or a suspended license.
In Alabama, a moped or motor-driven cycle is defined as motorcycles and motor scooters which have:
- An engine with no more than 5 brake horsepower.
- An engine no more than 150cc.
- A vehicle weight of less than 200 pounds.
Bicycles with attached motors also fall under this category.
In order to drive a moped, the rider must be at least 14 years old and hold a valid Class M motorcycle license with a B restriction.
A Class M license with no restrictions is available to applications who are at least 16 years old.
Moped riders must also obey the following rules:
- Riders must be on a permanent seat and cannot carry passengers unless there is a designated seat designed for passengers.
- You cannot ride while holding a package or cargo in one hand.
- You must wear a DOT-approved helmet.
- You must always wear shoes while riding.
For a complete list of rules and regulations regarding mopeds in Alabama, contact your local DMV office.
Learn about the differences between scooters vs. mopeds.
Do you need a license to drive a moped in Alabama?
In Alabama, you will generally need a motorcycle license to legally ride a moped on public roads.
A standard driver’s license is not sufficient.
A “B” restriction license is available for riders who are 14 to 15 years old. The B restrictions allows for operation of a moped, and is valid for 4 years.
At 16 years old, you can apply for an unrestricted motorcycle license.
How to Get a Alabama Moped License
Since Alabama requires a motorcycle license to ride a moped, you’ll usually need to:
- Visit your local driver’s license office.
- Complete an application.
- Provide proof of your identity, residency, and legal presence.
- Pass a vision exam.
- Pass a written knowledge test.
- Pay the licensing fees.
Learn how to get your Alabama motorcycle license.
Alabama Moped Registration & Insurance
Mopeds and small scooters must be registered, display a license plate, and have a valid motorcycle insurance policy.
To apply, you’ll need to visit you local county office and submit:
- A moped registration application.
- Proof of ownership.
- Payment for the motorcycle license plate, title, and sales tax.
Learn more about:
Many of the major motorcycle insurance providers will also offer coverage for smaller bikes, scooters, and mopeds.
Regardless of the Alabama requirements, it’s always a smart idea to have insurance coverage when you ride any type of vehicle on public roads.
Be sure to compare quotes from a few different providers to get the best rates.
Learn more about moped insurance.
Note that some cities and local jurisdictions may have additional regulations for moped riders. (i.e. roadway restrictions, registration requirements, etc.). Be sure to check with your local Department of Motor Vehicles/authorities to make sure you and your moped are street legal.
For official information, up-to-date fees, and instructions, please contact your local county Alabama DMV office.
Find more information about scooter and mopeds here.