Home » Scooters & Mopeds » How to Get a Moped License » Arizona Moped License & Registration (50cc Scooters)

Help me MotorcycleZombies, you're my only hope!

Arizona Moped License & Registration (50cc Scooters)


Taking care of a task for your license or motorcycle? Be prepared to satisfy any motorcycle insurance requirements.

Please enter your ZIP to get your insurance quote.

If you’ve got a short commute or need a fun, convenient way to get around town, mopeds are an excellent choice. 

They’re easy to ride, have great gas mileage, and are affordable to purchase and maintain. 

This page will cover the basic requirements for riding a moped in Arizona.

If you already have a valid Arizona motorcycle license, you’ll definitely be ready to ride a moped or <50cc scooter. In fact, that’s typically the safest route to go. 

Arizona Moped Laws for <50cc Scooters

In order to ride a moped legally in Arizona, you’ll need to be sure to follow the rules and regulations. Failing to do so could result in traffic tickets, fines, or a suspended license. 

A moped is defined as a bicycle or small-displacement scooter with an engine of no more than 50cc, 1.5 hp or less braking power, and a top speed of no more than 25 mph. 

You can operate a moped with any type of valid driver’s license or motorcycle endorsement.

Mopeds are prohibited from riding in bicycle-only areas. 

For a complete list of rules and regulations regarding mopeds in Arizona, contact your local DMV office. 

Learn about the differences between scooters vs. mopeds

Do you need a license to drive a moped in Arizona?

In Arizona, you will generally need a valid driver’s license to legally ride a moped on public roads. 

How to Get a Arizona Moped License

Since Arizona requires a driver’s license to ride a moped, you’ll usually need to:

  • Visit your local MVD office. 
  • Complete a driver’s license application. 
  • Provide proof of your identity, residency, and legal presence. 
  • Pass a vision exam. 
  • Pass a written test. 
  • Pass a driving test. 
  • Pay the licensing fees.

Learn how to get your Arizona motorcycle license

Arizona Moped Registration & Insurance

Titles are not issued to mopeds in AZ. 

However, you will need to register the moped each year. In most jurisdictions, the fee is about $4.50 – $5 per year.

You’ll need to carry a valid insurance policy. 

Learn more about:

Many of the major motorcycle insurance providers will also offer coverage for smaller bikes, scooters, and mopeds. 

Regardless of the Arizona requirements, it’s always a smart idea to have insurance coverage when you ride any type of vehicle on public roads. 

Be sure to compare quotes from a few different providers to get the best rates. 

Learn more about moped insurance.

Note that some cities and local jurisdictions may have additional regulations for moped riders. (i.e. roadway restrictions, registration requirements, etc.). Be sure to check with your local Department of Motor Vehicles/authorities to make sure you and your moped are street legal.

For official information, up-to-date fees, and instructions, please contact your local county Arizona DMV office.  

Find more information about scooter and mopeds here. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *