Arkansas Moped License & Registration (50cc Scooters)

ATTENTION: Taking care of a task for your motorcycle? You should be prepared to satisfy any insurance requirements.

Please enter your zip code below to get started.

If you’ve got a short commute or need a fun, convenient way to get around town, mopeds are an excellent choice. 

They’re easy to ride, have great gas mileage, and are affordable to purchase and maintain. 

This page will cover the basic requirements for riding a moped in Arkansas.

If you already have a valid Arkansas motorcycle license, you’ll definitely be ready to ride a moped or <50cc scooter. In fact, that’s typically the safest route to go. 

Arkansas Moped Laws for <50cc Scooters

In order to ride a moped legally in Arkansas, you’ll need to be sure to follow the rules and regulations. Failing to do so could result in traffic tickets, fines, or a suspended license. 

In Arkansas, a moped is defined as:

  • Having human powered pedals. 
  • An automatic transmission. 
  • An engine of less than 50cc.
  • A top speed of no more than 30 mph. 

Mopeds also need to be equipped with headlights, rear reflectors and lights, brakes, horn, and a muffler. 

Motor-driven cycles are defined as 2 and 3 wheel motorcycles with engines of less than 250cc. 

Mopeds/motorized bicycles require the operator to be at least 10 years old and hold a motorized bicycle certificate. 

Eye protection is required for all riders and passengers. Helmets are required for riders under 21 years old. 

Moped headlights and taillights must be on at all times. 

For a complete list of rules and regulations regarding mopeds in Arkansas, contact your local DMV office. 

Learn about the differences between scooters vs. mopeds

Do you need a license to drive a moped in Arkansas?

In Arkansas, you will generally need a standard driver’s license or motorized bicycle certificate to legally ride a moped on public roads. 

Mopeds/motorized bicycles require the operator to be at least 10 years old and hold a motorized bicycle certificate. 

A class MD motorcycle license is available for riders ages 14-15 that allows them to operate a motor-driven cycle with an engine of 250cc or less.

How to Get a Arkansas Moped License

Since Arkansas requires a standard driver’s license to ride a moped, you’ll usually need to:

  • Visit your local DMV office. 
  • Submit an application and proof of ID. 
  • Pass a vision exam. 
  • Pass the written test. 
  • Pass a road test. 
  • Pay the licensing fees.

Learn how to get your Arkansas motorcycle license

Arkansas Moped Registration & Insurance

Titles are generally not issued for mopeds in Arkansas. 


Some cities require riders to carry liability insurance and pay an annual registration fee of $3 + $2.50, depending on the type of moped.  

Learn more about:

Many of the major motorcycle insurance providers will also offer coverage for smaller bikes, scooters, and mopeds. 

Regardless of the Arkansas requirements, it’s always a smart idea to have insurance coverage when you ride any type of vehicle on public roads. 

Be sure to compare quotes from a few different providers to get the best rates. 

Learn more about moped insurance.

Note that some cities and local jurisdictions may have additional regulations for moped riders. (i.e. roadway restrictions, registration requirements, etc.). Be sure to check with your local Department of Motor Vehicles/authorities to make sure you and your moped are street legal.

For official information, up-to-date fees, and instructions, please contact your local county Arkansas DMV office.  

Find more information about scooter and mopeds here.