Delaware Moped License & Registration (50cc Scooters)

ATTENTION: Taking care of a task for your motorcycle? You should be prepared to satisfy any insurance requirements.

Please enter your zip code below to get started.

If you’ve got a short commute or need a fun, convenient way to get around town, mopeds are an excellent choice. 

They’re easy to ride, have great gas mileage, and are affordable to purchase and maintain. 

This page will cover the basic requirements for riding a moped in Delaware.

If you already have a valid Delaware motorcycle license, you’ll definitely be ready to ride a moped or <50cc scooter. In fact, that’s typically the safest route to go. 

Delaware Moped Laws for <50cc Scooters

In order to ride a moped legally in Delaware, you’ll need to be sure to follow the rules and regulations. Failing to do so could result in traffic tickets, fines, or a suspended license. 

Mopeds are defined as having a displacement of less than 55cc and a brake horsepower of no more than 2.7. 

Riders under 16 years old must wear a helmet. 

Mopeds cannot be driven on interstate or limited-access highways. 

You cannot ride on a bike path unless the engine is off. 

Mopeds must be equipped with:

  • Front and rear lights. 
  • A bell or horn. 

For a complete list of rules and regulations regarding mopeds in Delaware, contact your local DMV office. 

Learn about the differences between scooters vs. mopeds

Do you need a license to drive a moped in Delaware?

In Delaware, you will generally need a standard driver’s license to legally ride a moped on public roads. 

How to Get a Delaware Moped License

Since Delaware requires a driver’s license to ride a moped, you’ll usually need to:

  • Visit the DMV office. 
  • Submit an application and provide proof of ID. 
  • Pass a vision test.
  • Pass the written exam. 
  • Pass a road test. 
  • Pay the applicable fees.

Learn how to get your Delaware motorcycle license

Delaware Moped Registration & Insurance

You are required to register and title your moped in Delaware. 

Registration is $5 per 3 years. 

Learn more about:

Many of the major motorcycle insurance providers will also offer coverage for smaller bikes, scooters, and mopeds. 

Regardless of the Delaware requirements, it’s always a smart idea to have insurance coverage when you ride any type of vehicle on public roads. 

Be sure to compare quotes from a few different providers to get the best rates. 

Learn more about moped insurance.

Note that some cities and local jurisdictions may have additional regulations for moped riders. (i.e. roadway restrictions, registration requirements, etc.). Be sure to check with your local Department of Motor Vehicles/authorities to make sure you and your moped are street legal.

For official information, up-to-date fees, and instructions, please contact your local county Delaware DMV office.  

Find more information about scooter and mopeds here.