Getting your moped license? Make sure you have insurance in place for when you hit the road. Answer the questions below to compare custom quotes.
⚠️ ATTENTION: Ready to get your moped license? Be prepared to satisfy any insurance requirements. Click below for a free insurance quote.
Please answer the questions below to get started:
If you’ve got a short commute or need a fun, convenient way to get around town, mopeds are an excellent choice.
They’re easy to ride, have great gas mileage, and are affordable to purchase and maintain.
This page will cover the basic requirements for riding a moped in Iowa.
If you already have a valid Iowa motorcycle license, you’ll definitely be ready to ride a moped or <50cc scooter. In fact, that’s typically the safest route to go.
Iowa Moped Laws for <50cc Scooters
In order to ride a moped legally in Iowa, you’ll need to be sure to follow the rules and regulations. Failing to do so could result in traffic tickets, fines, or a suspended license.
In Iowa, a moped is defined as a motor vehicle with:
- A saddle or seat for a single rider.
- No more than 3 wheels.
- A top speed of no more than 39 mph.
- Capability to travel 20 mph while driving up a 3% incline.
Passengers are not permitted to ride on your moped.
Mopeds must also display a safety flag no less than 5 feet above the ground.
You’ll also need to keep your headlight on at all times while riding on public roads.
For a complete list of rules and regulations regarding mopeds in Iowa, contact your local DMV office.
Learn about the differences between scooters vs. mopeds.
Do you need a license to drive a moped in Iowa?
In Iowa, you will generally need a valid driver’s license to legally ride a moped on public roads.
Riders who are at least 18 years old with a standard Iowa driver’s license can ride a moped without any extra credentials.
Riders under 18 years old must also apply for a moped license (restriction 5).
How to Get a Iowa Moped License
If you are required to apply for an Iowa moped license, you’ll usually need to:
- Visit the MVD to submit an application.
- Be at least 14 years old.
- Pass the vision test.
- Pass a knowledge test.
- Pass a skills test.
- Complete a moped safety course, if you are under 16 years old.
- Pay the $8 moped license fee.
Moped licenses are valid for up to 2 years.
Learn how to get your Iowa motorcycle license.
Iowa Moped Registration & Insurance
Street legal mopeds must meet federal motor vehicle safety standards and come with a manufacturer’s certification label.
You must title and register your moped with the Iowa MVD.
A valid insurance policy is also required.
Learn more about:
Many of the major motorcycle insurance providers will also offer coverage for smaller bikes, scooters, and mopeds.
Regardless of the Iowa requirements, it’s always a smart idea to have insurance coverage when you ride any type of vehicle on public roads.
Be sure to compare quotes from a few different providers to get the best rates.
Learn more about moped insurance.
Note that some cities and local jurisdictions may have additional regulations for moped riders. (i.e. roadway restrictions, registration requirements, etc.). Be sure to check with your local Department of Motor Vehicles/authorities to make sure you and your moped are street legal.
For official information, up-to-date fees, and instructions, please contact your local county Iowa DMV office.
Find more information about scooter and mopeds here.