Getting your moped license? Make sure you have insurance in place for when you hit the road. Answer the questions below to compare custom quotes.
⚠️ ATTENTION: Ready to get your moped license? Be prepared to satisfy any insurance requirements. Click below for a free insurance quote.
Please answer the questions below to get started:
If you’ve got a short commute or need a fun, convenient way to get around town, mopeds are an excellent choice.
They’re easy to ride, have great gas mileage, and are affordable to purchase and maintain.
This page will cover the basic requirements for riding a moped in Kansas.
If you already have a valid Kansas motorcycle license, you’ll definitely be ready to ride a moped or <50cc scooter. In fact, that’s typically the safest route to go.
Kansas Moped Laws for <50cc Scooters
In order to ride a moped legally in Kansas, you’ll need to be sure to follow the rules and regulations. Failing to do so could result in traffic tickets, fines, or a suspended license.
A moped is defined as having:
- A motor with no more than 3.5 brake hp.
- An engine of no more than 130cc.
- An automatic transmission.
- A max speed of no more than 30 mph.
Moped riders under 18 years old must wear a helmet and eye protection at all times.
For a complete list of rules and regulations regarding mopeds in Kansas, contact your local DMV office.
Learn about the differences between scooters vs. mopeds.
Do you need a license to drive a moped in Kansas?
In Kansas, you will generally need a valid driver’s license or a moped license to legally ride a moped on public roads.
How to Get a Kansas Moped License
If you want to get a Kansas moped license, you’ll usually need to:
- Submit a moped license application to the DOR.
- Provide proof of ID.
- Pass any necessary exams.
- Pay the $40 application and licensing fee.
Learn how to get your Kansas motorcycle license.
Kansas Moped Registration & Insurance
All mopeds must be titled, registered, and insured to legally ride in Kansas.
Learn more about:
Many of the major motorcycle insurance providers will also offer coverage for smaller bikes, scooters, and mopeds.
Regardless of the Kansas requirements, it’s always a smart idea to have insurance coverage when you ride any type of vehicle on public roads.
Be sure to compare quotes from a few different providers to get the best rates.
Learn more about moped insurance.
Note that some cities and local jurisdictions may have additional regulations for moped riders. (i.e. roadway restrictions, registration requirements, etc.). Be sure to check with your local Department of Motor Vehicles/authorities to make sure you and your moped are street legal.
For official information, up-to-date fees, and instructions, please contact your local county Kansas DMV office.
Find more information about scooter and mopeds here.