If you’ve got a short commute or need a fun, convenient way to get around town, mopeds are an excellent choice.
They’re easy to ride, have great gas mileage, and are affordable to purchase and maintain.
This page will cover the basic requirements for riding a moped in Maryland.
If you already have a valid Maryland motorcycle license, you’ll definitely be ready to ride a moped or <50cc scooter. In fact, that’s typically the safest route to go.
Maryland Moped Laws for <50cc Scooters
In order to ride a moped legally in Maryland, you’ll need to be sure to follow the rules and regulations. Failing to do so could result in traffic tickets, fines, or a suspended license.
The Maryland MVA classifies both mopeds and motor scooters.
A moped is defined as having:
- Pedals and a motor.
- 2 or 3 wheels with one that is more than 14” in diameter.
- A motor of no more than 1.5 hp and a displacement of no more than 50cc.
A motor scooter is defined as having:
- No pedals.
- A seat for the rider.
- 2 wheels with one that is 10” or greater in diameter.
- A step-through frame.
- An engine of no more than 2.7 hp and displacement of no more than 50cc.
- An automatic transmission.
Riders are always required to wear a DOT approved motorcycle helmet.
Moped riders are required to ride as close to the right side of the road as possible unless preparing to turn left, pass a stopped vehicle, or avoid a hazard.
Riding on roads with a speed limit of 50mph or faster is prohibited.
For a complete list of rules and regulations regarding mopeds in Maryland, contact your local DMV office.
Learn about the differences between scooters vs. mopeds.
Do you need a license to drive a moped in Maryland?
In Maryland, you will generally need a valid driver’s license or moped permit to legally ride a moped on public roads.
Moped permits are available to riders who are at least 16 years old.
How to Get a Maryland Moped License
Since Maryland requires a driver’s license OR moped permit to ride a moped, you’ll usually need to:
- Visit your local MVA office.
- Complete a moped permit application.
- Provide proof of your ID, residency, Social Security Number, and legal presence.
- Pass a vision test.
- Be accompanied by a parent/guardian if you are under 18 years old.
- Pass a moped knowledge test.
- Pay the $45 moped license fee.
Learn how to get your Maryland motorcycle license.
Maryland Moped Registration & Insurance
You must tile your moped to ride it legally on public roads.
You’ll need to display a permanent registration decal on your moped.
The title fee is $20, and an excise tax (minimum $19.20) will also apply. The decal fee is $5.
You’ll also need to carry a current motorcycle insurance policy.
Learn more about:
Many of the major motorcycle insurance providers will also offer coverage for smaller bikes, scooters, and mopeds.
Regardless of the Maryland requirements, it’s always a smart idea to have insurance coverage when you ride any type of vehicle on public roads.
Be sure to compare quotes from a few different providers to get the best rates.
Learn more about moped insurance.
Note that some cities and local jurisdictions may have additional regulations for moped riders. (i.e. roadway restrictions, registration requirements, etc.). Be sure to check with your local Department of Motor Vehicles/authorities to make sure you and your moped are street legal.
For official information, up-to-date fees, and instructions, please contact your local county Maryland DMV office.
Find more information about scooter and mopeds here.