ATTENTION: Do you ride a scooter or moped? Make sure you satisfy any insurance requirements for your state. Click below for a free quote.
Please enter your zip to get started:
If you’ve got a short commute or need a fun, convenient way to get around town, mopeds are an excellent choice.
They’re easy to ride, have great gas mileage, and are affordable to purchase and maintain.
This page will cover the basic requirements for riding a moped in Michigan.
If you already have a valid Michigan motorcycle license, you’ll definitely be ready to ride a moped or <50cc scooter. In fact, that’s typically the safest route to go.
Michigan Moped Laws for <50cc Scooters
In order to ride a moped legally in Michigan, you’ll need to be sure to follow the rules and regulations. Failing to do so could result in traffic tickets, fines, or a suspended license.
In Michigan, mopeds must meet all of the following criteria:
- An engine no greater than 100cc.
- An automatic transmission that doesn’t require shifting gears.
- A top speed of 30mph or slower.
Mopeds must be ridden towards the right side of the roadway.
All riders under 19 years old must wear a DOT approved helmet to ride a moped.
For a complete list of rules and regulations regarding mopeds in Michigan, contact your local DMV office.
Learn about the differences between scooters vs. mopeds.
Do you need a license to drive a moped in Michigan?
In Michigan, you will generally need a valid driver’s license OR a moped license to legally ride a moped on public roads.
How to Get a Michigan Moped License
Since Michigan requires a driver’s license OR moped license to ride a moped, you’ll usually need to:
- Visit your local SOS office.
- Be at least 15 years old.
- Have parental consent, if applicable.
- Provide proof of your ID, citizenship, SSN, and residency.
- Pass the moped written test and road signs test.
- Pass a vision exam.
- Pay the moped license fee of $7.50. (Enhanced $38).
Moped license renewals are $6.
Note that if you already have a driver’s license, you don’t need to apply for a moped license.
Learn how to get your Michigan motorcycle license.
Michigan Moped Registration & Insurance
You are required to register your moped with the MI SOS.
You’ll need to:
- Visit your local SOS office.
- Provide proof of ownership (bill of sale).
- Complete a Moped Registration Application.
- Pay the moped registration fee of $15.
Moped registrations are valid for 3 years, and must be renewed by April 30.
Learn more about:
Many of the major motorcycle insurance providers will also offer coverage for smaller bikes, scooters, and mopeds.
Regardless of the Michigan requirements, it’s always a smart idea to have insurance coverage when you ride any type of vehicle on public roads.
Be sure to compare quotes from a few different providers to get the best rates.
Learn more about moped insurance.
Note that some cities and local jurisdictions may have additional regulations for moped riders. (i.e. roadway restrictions, registration requirements, etc.). Be sure to check with your local Department of Motor Vehicles/authorities to make sure you and your moped are street legal.
For official information, up-to-date fees, and instructions, please contact your local county Michigan DMV office.
Find more information about scooter and mopeds here.