- Insurance costs increased in 2024.
- Don't let your rates go up.
- Compare rates to save big!
If you’ve got a short commute or need a fun, convenient way to get around town, mopeds are an excellent choice.
They’re easy to ride, have great gas mileage, and are affordable to purchase and maintain.
This page will cover the basic requirements for riding a moped in Nevada.
If you already have a valid Nevada motorcycle license, you’ll definitely be ready to ride a moped or <50cc scooter. In fact, that’s typically the safest route to go.
Nevada Moped Laws for <50cc Scooters
In order to ride a moped legally in Nevada, you’ll need to be sure to follow the rules and regulations. Failing to do so could result in traffic tickets, fines, or a suspended license.
The Nevada DMV requires that mopeds meet the following criteria:
- A motor-driven scooter, motor-driven cycle or similar vehicle with a small engine.
- An engine with no more than 2 gross brake hp and a displacement of no more than 50cc or no more than 1500 watts.
- A top speed of no more than 30 mph.
All moped riders must wear the same safety equipment as motorcyclists.
You are required to ride to the right-hand side of the road unless turning left or avoiding a hazard.
For a complete list of rules and regulations regarding mopeds in Nevada, contact your local DMV office.
Learn about the differences between scooters vs. mopeds.
Do you need a license to drive a moped in Nevada?
In Nevada, you will generally need a standard driver’s license of any class to legally ride a moped on public roads.
How to Get a Nevada Moped License
Since Nevada requires a driver’s license to ride a moped, you’ll usually need to:
- Visit your local DMV office.
- Complete an application and provide proof of ID.
- Pass the necessary exams.
- Pay the licensing fee.
Learn how to get your Nevada motorcycle license.
Nevada Moped Registration & Insurance
You are required to register your moped with the Nevada DMV.
To do so, you’ll need to:
- Take it to a DMV office or county Sheriff’s office to have it inspected ($1).
- Visit your local DMV office.
- Complete a Moped Registration Application.
- Provide proof of ownership.
- Pay the moped registration fees (about $60).
Moped fees are one time only until ownership is transferred.
You’ll need to display a license plate on the back of your moped.
Learn more about:
Many of the major motorcycle insurance providers will also offer coverage for smaller bikes, scooters, and mopeds.
Regardless of the Nevada requirements, it’s always a smart idea to have insurance coverage when you ride any type of vehicle on public roads.
Be sure to compare quotes from a few different providers to get the best rates.
Learn more about moped insurance.
Note that some cities and local jurisdictions may have additional regulations for moped riders. (i.e. roadway restrictions, registration requirements, etc.). Be sure to check with your local Department of Motor Vehicles/authorities to make sure you and your moped are street legal.
For official information, up-to-date fees, and instructions, please contact your local county Nevada DMV office.
Find more information about scooter and mopeds here.