Getting your moped license? Make sure you have insurance in place for when you hit the road. Answer the questions below to compare custom quotes.
⚠️ ATTENTION: Ready to get your moped license? Be prepared to satisfy any insurance requirements. Click below for a free insurance quote.
Please answer the questions below to get started:
If you’ve got a short commute or need a fun, convenient way to get around town, mopeds are an excellent choice.
They’re easy to ride, have great gas mileage, and are affordable to purchase and maintain.
This page will cover the basic requirements for riding a moped in New Jersey.
If you already have a valid New Jersey motorcycle license, you’ll definitely be ready to ride a moped or <50cc scooter. In fact, that’s typically the safest route to go.
New Jersey Moped Laws for <50cc Scooters
In order to ride a moped legally in New Jersey, you’ll need to be sure to follow the rules and regulations. Failing to do so could result in traffic tickets, fines, or a suspended license.
The New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commision (MVC) defines a moped as:
- A pedal bicycle with a helper motor.
- An electric or gas-powered engine with a maximum displacement of 50cc and no more than 1.5 brake horsepower.
- A top speed of no faster than 25 mph.
Moped riders must be at least 15 years old.
For a complete list of rules and regulations regarding mopeds in New Jersey, contact your local DMV office.
Learn about the differences between scooters vs. mopeds.
Do you need a license to drive a moped in New Jersey?
In New Jersey, you will generally need a moped license or a standard driver’s license to legally ride a moped on public roads.
How to Get a New Jersey Moped License
To get a New Jersey moped license, you’ll usually need to:
- Visit your local MVC office.
- Complete a moped permit application.
- Provide proof of your ID and residency.
- Pay the testing and license fees.
- Pass a vision exam and knowledge test.
- Hold a moped permit for at least 20 days.
- Pass a moped road test.
Note that if you already hold a valid driver’s license, you can ride a moped without a special moped license.
Learn how to get your New Jersey motorcycle license.
New Jersey Moped Registration & Insurance
New Jersey requires you to register your moped. You’ll need:
- The MCO.
- A title or registration, or other proof of ownership.
If your moped does not have pedals, it must be registered as a motorcycle instead.
Learn more about:
Many of the major motorcycle insurance providers will also offer coverage for smaller bikes, scooters, and mopeds.
Regardless of the New Jersey requirements, it’s always a smart idea to have insurance coverage when you ride any type of vehicle on public roads.
Be sure to compare quotes from a few different providers to get the best rates.
Learn more about moped insurance.
Note that some cities and local jurisdictions may have additional regulations for moped riders. (i.e. roadway restrictions, registration requirements, etc.). Be sure to check with your local Department of Motor Vehicles/authorities to make sure you and your moped are street legal.
For official information, up-to-date fees, and instructions, please contact your local county New Jersey DMV office.
Find more information about scooter and mopeds here.