North Dakota Moped License & Registration (50cc Scooters)

ATTENTION: Taking care of a task for your motorcycle? You should be prepared to satisfy any insurance requirements.

Please enter your zip code below to get started.

If you’ve got a short commute or need a fun, convenient way to get around town, mopeds are an excellent choice. 

They’re easy to ride, have great gas mileage, and are affordable to purchase and maintain. 

This page will cover the basic requirements for riding a moped in North Dakota.

If you already have a valid North Dakota motorcycle license, you’ll definitely be ready to ride a moped or <50cc scooter. In fact, that’s typically the safest route to go. 

North Dakota Moped Laws for <50cc Scooters

In order to ride a moped legally in North Dakota, you’ll need to be sure to follow the rules and regulations. Failing to do so could result in traffic tickets, fines, or a suspended license. 

North Dakota defines mopeds as having:

  • 2-3 wheels. 
  • Foot pedals for human propulsion or foot rests. 
  • A motor capable of up to 2 hp and no larger than 49.98cc. 
  • A top speed of no more than 30 mph. 
  • An automatic transmission that requires no clutch or shifting. 
  • A width no larger than 32”. 

For a complete list of rules and regulations regarding mopeds in North Dakota, contact your local DMV office. 

Learn about the differences between scooters vs. mopeds

Do you need a license to drive a moped in North Dakota?

In North Dakota, you will generally need a standard operator license or moped permit to legally ride a moped on public roads. 

How to Get a North Dakota Moped License

To get a ND moped permit, you’ll usually need to:

  • Be at least 14 years old. 
  • Visit your local DMV office. 
  • Pass a written exam. 
  • Pass a vision test. 
  • Pay the $10 fee.

Learn how to get your North Dakota motorcycle license. 

North Dakota Moped Registration & Insurance

The ND DMV requires that mopeds have license plates, a title, and liability insurance. 

The moped license plate and registration fee is $25 plus any other fees. The title fee is $5 plus excise tax. 

At least minimum liability insurance is required for all registered mopeds. 

Odometer certification is required upon initial registration. 

Learn more about:

Many of the major motorcycle insurance providers will also offer coverage for smaller bikes, scooters, and mopeds. 

Regardless of the North Dakota requirements, it’s always a smart idea to have insurance coverage when you ride any type of vehicle on public roads. 

Be sure to compare quotes from a few different providers to get the best rates. 

Learn more about moped insurance.

Note that some cities and local jurisdictions may have additional regulations for moped riders. (i.e. roadway restrictions, registration requirements, etc.). Be sure to check with your local Department of Motor Vehicles/authorities to make sure you and your moped are street legal.

For official information, up-to-date fees, and instructions, please contact your local county North Dakota DMV office.  

Find more information about scooter and mopeds here.