Home » Scooters & Mopeds » How to Get a Moped License » Ohio Moped License & Registration (50cc Scooters)

Help me MotorcycleZombies, you're my only hope!

Ohio Moped License & Registration (50cc Scooters)


Taking care of a task for your license or motorcycle? Be prepared to satisfy any motorcycle insurance requirements.

Please enter your ZIP to get your insurance quote.

If you’ve got a short commute or need a fun, convenient way to get around town, mopeds are an excellent choice. 

They’re easy to ride, have great gas mileage, and are affordable to purchase and maintain. 

This page will cover the basic requirements for riding a moped in Ohio.

If you already have a valid Ohio motorcycle license, you’ll definitely be ready to ride a moped or <50cc scooter. In fact, that’s typically the safest route to go. 

Ohio Moped Laws for <50cc Scooters

In order to ride a moped legally in Ohio, you’ll need to be sure to follow the rules and regulations. Failing to do so could result in traffic tickets, fines, or a suspended license. 

The Ohio BMV defines mopeds as having all of the following:

  • 2-3 wheels. 
  • Pedals. 
  • A motor no larger than 50cc and no more than 1 brake hp. 
  • A top speed of no more than 20mph. 

If a moped exceeds those criteria, it is treated the same as a motorcycle. 

Moped riders under 18 years old are required to wear a helmet at all times. 

Mopeds must have at least 1 rear view mirror. 

You must ride, when safe to do so, within 3 feet of the right side of the road. 

No passengers are allowed on mopeds. 

For a complete list of rules and regulations regarding mopeds in Ohio, contact your local DMV office. 

Learn about the differences between scooters vs. mopeds

Do you need a license to drive a moped in Ohio?

In Ohio, you will generally need a valid driver’s license or a moped/motorized bicycle license to legally ride a moped on public roads. 

How to Get a Ohio Moped License

If you do not hold a valid driver’s license, you can apply for a moped license. You’ll usually need to:

  • Be at least 14 years old. 
  • Pass a vision exam. 
  • Pass a written knowledge test. 
  • Pass a road test. 
  • Pay the licensing fee.

Applications aged 14-15 must hold a probationary license, which requires:

  • No nighttime riding. 
  • No passengers. 
  • No riding on interstate highways or busy roads. 
  • Helmet and eye protection at all times. 

Learn how to get your Ohio motorcycle license

Ohio Moped Registration & Insurance

To be street legal, you must register your moped with the BMV. 

You’ll need to complete a moped registration application and display a rear license plate. 

Learn more about:

Many of the major motorcycle insurance providers will also offer coverage for smaller bikes, scooters, and mopeds. 

Regardless of the Ohio requirements, it’s always a smart idea to have insurance coverage when you ride any type of vehicle on public roads. 

Be sure to compare quotes from a few different providers to get the best rates. 

Learn more about moped insurance.

Note that some cities and local jurisdictions may have additional regulations for moped riders. (i.e. roadway restrictions, registration requirements, etc.). Be sure to check with your local Department of Motor Vehicles/authorities to make sure you and your moped are street legal.

For official information, up-to-date fees, and instructions, please contact your local county Ohio DMV office.  

Find more information about scooter and mopeds here. 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *