Oregon Moped License & Registration (50cc Scooters)

ATTENTION: Taking care of a task for your motorcycle? You should be prepared to satisfy any insurance requirements.

Please enter your zip code below to get started.

If you’ve got a short commute or need a fun, convenient way to get around town, mopeds are an excellent choice. 

They’re easy to ride, have great gas mileage, and are affordable to purchase and maintain. 

This page will cover the basic requirements for riding a moped in Oregon.

If you already have a valid Oregon motorcycle license, you’ll definitely be ready to ride a moped or <50cc scooter. In fact, that’s typically the safest route to go. 

Oregon Moped Laws for <50cc Scooters

In order to ride a moped legally in Oregon, you’ll need to be sure to follow the rules and regulations. Failing to do so could result in traffic tickets, fines, or a suspended license. 

Mopeds in Oregon are defined as meeting all of the following criteria:

  • Top speed of no more than 30 mph. 
  • An engine no larger than 50cc. 
  • Automatic transmission. 

Mopeds must also have proper lights. 

Passengers are not allowed to ride on your moped. 

DOT helmets are required for all riders. 

Riding on a bike path or bike lane is only allowed under use of the pedals without the motor. 

For a complete list of rules and regulations regarding mopeds in Oregon, contact your local DMV office. 

Learn about the differences between scooters vs. mopeds

Do you need a license to drive a moped in Oregon?

In Oregon, you will generally need a valid driver’s license to legally ride a moped on public roads. 

The minimum age to operate a moped is 16 years old. 

How to Get a Oregon Moped License

Since Oregon requires a valid driver’s license to ride a moped, you’ll usually need to:

  • Visit your local DMV office. 
  • Complete an application and provide proof of ID and residency. 
  • Pass the vision, knowledge, and road test. 
  • Pay the license fee.

Learn how to get your Oregon motorcycle license

Oregon Moped Registration & Insurance

Mopeds require registration and insurance to be street legal in Oregon. 

Learn more about:

Many of the major motorcycle insurance providers will also offer coverage for smaller bikes, scooters, and mopeds. 

Regardless of the Oregon requirements, it’s always a smart idea to have insurance coverage when you ride any type of vehicle on public roads. 

Be sure to compare quotes from a few different providers to get the best rates. 

Learn more about moped insurance.

Note that some cities and local jurisdictions may have additional regulations for moped riders. (i.e. roadway restrictions, registration requirements, etc.). Be sure to check with your local Department of Motor Vehicles/authorities to make sure you and your moped are street legal.

For official information, up-to-date fees, and instructions, please contact your local county Oregon DMV office.  

Find more information about scooter and mopeds here.