Rhode Island Moped License & Registration (50cc Scooters)

ATTENTION: Taking care of a task for your motorcycle? You should be prepared to satisfy any insurance requirements.

Please enter your zip code below to get started.

If you’ve got a short commute or need a fun, convenient way to get around town, mopeds are an excellent choice. 

They’re easy to ride, have great gas mileage, and are affordable to purchase and maintain. 

This page will cover the basic requirements for riding a moped in Rhode Island.

If you already have a valid Rhode Island motorcycle license, you’ll definitely be ready to ride a moped or <50cc scooter. In fact, that’s typically the safest route to go. 

Rhode Island Moped Laws for <50cc Scooters

In order to ride a moped legally in Rhode Island, you’ll need to be sure to follow the rules and regulations. Failing to do so could result in traffic tickets, fines, or a suspended license. 

Rhode Island defines mopeds as 2-wheel vehicles propelled by pedals and a helper motor no larger than 50cc. Top speeds cannot exceed 30 mph. 

Riders under 21 years old are required to wear a helmet while riding. Eye protection is required for all riders. 

For a complete list of rules and regulations regarding mopeds in Rhode Island, contact your local DMV office. 

Learn about the differences between scooters vs. mopeds

Do you need a license to drive a moped in Rhode Island?

In Rhode Island, you will generally need a valid driver’s license to legally ride a moped on public roads. 

How to Get a Rhode Island Moped License

Since Rhode Island requires a driver’s license to ride a moped, you’ll usually need to:

  • Visit the DMV office.
  • Complete application. 
  • Provide proof of ID.
  • Pass the vision, written, and driving tests. 
  • Pay the license fees.

Learn how to get your Rhode Island motorcycle license. 

Rhode Island Moped Registration & Insurance

RI DMV requires that mopeds be inspected and registered.

Learn more about:

Many of the major motorcycle insurance providers will also offer coverage for smaller bikes, scooters, and mopeds. 

Regardless of the Rhode Island requirements, it’s always a smart idea to have insurance coverage when you ride any type of vehicle on public roads. 

Be sure to compare quotes from a few different providers to get the best rates. 

Learn more about moped insurance.

Note that some cities and local jurisdictions may have additional regulations for moped riders. (i.e. roadway restrictions, registration requirements, etc.). Be sure to check with your local Department of Motor Vehicles/authorities to make sure you and your moped are street legal.

For official information, up-to-date fees, and instructions, please contact your local county Rhode Island DMV office.  

Find more information about scooter and mopeds here.