⚠️ ATTENTION: Ready to get your moped license? Be prepared to satisfy any insurance requirements. Click below for a free insurance quote.
Please enter your ZIP to get started:
If you’ve got a short commute or need a fun, convenient way to get around town, mopeds are an excellent choice.
They’re easy to ride, have great gas mileage, and are affordable to purchase and maintain.
This page will cover the basic requirements for riding a moped in South Carolina.
If you already have a valid South Carolina motorcycle license, you’ll definitely be ready to ride a moped or <50cc scooter. In fact, that’s typically the safest route to go.
South Carolina Moped Laws for <50cc Scooters
In order to ride a moped legally in South Carolina, you’ll need to be sure to follow the rules and regulations. Failing to do so could result in traffic tickets, fines, or a suspended license.
A moped license is available to applicants who are at least 15 years old.
15 year old moped license holders can only ride alone during daylight hours. Riders 16 years old and up can ride alone at any time.
Riders under 21 years old are required to wear a helmet while riding.
For a complete list of rules and regulations regarding mopeds in South Carolina, contact your local DMV office.
Mopeds must be ridden in the rightmost lane except when making a left turn or avoiding hazards.
Learn about the differences between scooters vs. mopeds.
Do you need a license to drive a moped in South Carolina?
In South Carolina, you will generally need a driver’s license or moped license to legally ride a moped on public roads.
How to Get a South Carolina Moped License
To get a moped license (Class G) in South Carolina, you’ll usually need to:
- Be at least 15 years old.
- Complete a Moped License Application.
- Present proof of your ID, residency, and Social Security Number.
- Have parental consent, if you are under 18 years old.
- Pass a vision exam.
- Pass a knowledge test.
- Pay the moped license fee.
Learn how to get your South Carolina motorcycle license.
South Carolina Moped Registration & Insurance
Mopeds require registration and a license plate in South Carolina. You’ll need to:
- Visit your local DMV office.
- Complete a Moped Registration/Title Application.
- Provide proof of ownership.
- Pay the registration fee.
Titles are optional, but also available.
Moped insurance is also optional, but is a good idea to carry.
Moped owners do not owe annual property taxes on their mopeds.
Learn more about:
Many of the major motorcycle insurance providers will also offer coverage for smaller bikes, scooters, and mopeds.
Regardless of the South Carolina requirements, it’s always a smart idea to have insurance coverage when you ride any type of vehicle on public roads.
Be sure to compare quotes from a few different providers to get the best rates.
Learn more about moped insurance.
Note that some cities and local jurisdictions may have additional regulations for moped riders. (i.e. roadway restrictions, registration requirements, etc.). Be sure to check with your local Department of Motor Vehicles/authorities to make sure you and your moped are street legal.
For official information, up-to-date fees, and instructions, please contact your local county South Carolina DMV office.
Find more information about scooter and mopeds here.