Getting your moped license? Make sure you have insurance in place for when you hit the road. Answer the questions below to compare custom quotes.
⚠️ ATTENTION: Ready to get your moped license? Be prepared to satisfy any insurance requirements. Click below for a free insurance quote.
Please answer the questions below to get started:
If you’ve got a short commute or need a fun, convenient way to get around town, mopeds are an excellent choice.
They’re easy to ride, have great gas mileage, and are affordable to purchase and maintain.
This page will cover the basic requirements for riding a moped in Texas.
If you already have a valid Texas motorcycle license, you’ll definitely be ready to ride a moped or <50cc scooter. In fact, that’s typically the safest route to go.
Texas Moped Laws for <50cc Scooters
In order to ride a moped legally in Texas, you’ll need to be sure to follow the rules and regulations. Failing to do so could result in traffic tickets, fines, or a suspended license.
In Texas, mopeds are defined as a motor driven cycle with:
- Top speeds no more than 30 mph.
- A motor capable of no more than 2 brake horsepower.
- An engine size of no more than 50cc.
- An automatic transmission with no shifting gears.
Regulations and laws regarding motorcycles apply to mopeds in Texas.
Riders under 21 years old must wear a motorcycle helmet while riding.
For a complete list of rules and regulations regarding mopeds in Texas, contact your local DMV office.
Learn about the differences between scooters vs. mopeds.
Do you need a license to drive a moped in Texas?
In Texas, you will generally need a motorcycle endorsement to legally ride a moped on public roads.
How to Get a Texas Moped License
Since Texas requires a class M to ride a moped, you’ll usually need to:
- Visit your local DPS office.
- Be at least 15 years old.
- Complete an approved motorcycle safety course.
- Pass a vision test.
- Satisfy the provisional and minor requirements, if you are under 18.
- Pass a riding skills test, if you are under 18.
- Pay the motorcycle license fees.
Learn how to get your Texas motorcycle license.
Texas Moped Registration & Insurance
You are required to title and register your moped with the TX DMV.
Insurance is also required.
Learn more about:
Many of the major motorcycle insurance providers will also offer coverage for smaller bikes, scooters, and mopeds.
Regardless of the Texas requirements, it’s always a smart idea to have insurance coverage when you ride any type of vehicle on public roads.
Be sure to compare quotes from a few different providers to get the best rates.
Learn more about moped insurance.
Note that some cities and local jurisdictions may have additional regulations for moped riders. (i.e. roadway restrictions, registration requirements, etc.). Be sure to check with your local Department of Motor Vehicles/authorities to make sure you and your moped are street legal.
For official information, up-to-date fees, and instructions, please contact your local county Texas DMV office.
Find more information about scooter and mopeds here.