ATTENTION: Do you ride a scooter or moped? Make sure you satisfy any insurance requirements for your state. Click below for a free quote.
Please enter your zip to get started:
If you’ve got a short commute or need a fun, convenient way to get around town, mopeds are an excellent choice.
They’re easy to ride, have great gas mileage, and are affordable to purchase and maintain.
This page will cover the basic requirements for riding a moped in Virginia.
If you already have a valid Virginia motorcycle license, you’ll definitely be ready to ride a moped or <50cc scooter. In fact, that’s typically the safest route to go.
Virginia Moped Laws for <50cc Scooters
In order to ride a moped legally in Virginia, you’ll need to be sure to follow the rules and regulations. Failing to do so could result in traffic tickets, fines, or a suspended license.
In Virginia, mopeds cannot go faster than 35 mph or have an engine larger than 50cc. If they do, they are treated like motorcycles.
All moped riders must wear a DOT helmet and eye protection.
Mopeds cannot be driven on the interstate.
Riders must be at least 16 years old.
All riders must carry a government issued ID while riding on public roads.
For a complete list of rules and regulations regarding mopeds in Virginia, contact your local DMV office.
Learn about the differences between scooters vs. mopeds.
Do you need a license to drive a moped in Virginia?
In Virginia, you will generally not need a license to legally ride a moped on public roads.
No driver’s license is required, but you must be at least 16 years old and carry a valid, government issued photo ID.
How to Get a Virginia Moped License
Since Virginia does not require a license to ride a moped, you’ll need to:
- Be at least 16 years old.
- Carry a current, government issued photo identification.
- Follow all traffic rules.
Learn how to get your Virginia motorcycle license.
Virginia Moped Registration & Insurance
The Virginia DMV requires you to title and register your moped.
You’ll need to renew the license plate each year.
Safety inspections, odometer readings, and insurance are not required.
You will need to complete a moped registration/title application and provide proof of ownership to get your initial plate.
Learn more about:
Many of the major motorcycle insurance providers will also offer coverage for smaller bikes, scooters, and mopeds.
Regardless of the Virginia requirements, it’s always a smart idea to have insurance coverage when you ride any type of vehicle on public roads.
Be sure to compare quotes from a few different providers to get the best rates.
Learn more about moped insurance.
Note that some cities and local jurisdictions may have additional regulations for moped riders. (i.e. roadway restrictions, registration requirements, etc.). Be sure to check with your local Department of Motor Vehicles/authorities to make sure you and your moped are street legal.
For official information, up-to-date fees, and instructions, please contact your local county Virginia DMV office.
Find more information about scooter and mopeds here.