ATTENTION: Do you ride a scooter or moped? Make sure you satisfy any insurance requirements for your state. Click below for a free quote.
Please enter your zip to get started:
If you’ve got a short commute or need a fun, convenient way to get around town, mopeds are an excellent choice.
They’re easy to ride, have great gas mileage, and are affordable to purchase and maintain.
This page will cover the basic requirements for riding a moped in West Virginia.
If you already have a valid West Virginia motorcycle license, you’ll definitely be ready to ride a moped or <50cc scooter. In fact, that’s typically the safest route to go.
West Virginia Moped Laws for <50cc Scooters
In order to ride a moped legally in West Virginia, you’ll need to be sure to follow the rules and regulations. Failing to do so could result in traffic tickets, fines, or a suspended license.
Mopeds are considered to meet the following criteria:
- 2 or 3 wheels.
- Foot pedals for human propulsion.
- Engine no bigger than 50cc with no more than 2 brake horsepower.
- An automatic transmission.
- A top speed of no more than 30 mph.
Helmets are required.
Your moped must be equipped with a rearview mirror.
You must be at least 16 years old to ride a moped and hold a valid driver’s license.
All traffic laws must be obeyed when riding a moped.
For a complete list of rules and regulations regarding mopeds in West Virginia, contact your local DMV office.
Learn about the differences between scooters vs. mopeds.
Do you need a license to drive a moped in West Virginia?
In West Virginia, you will generally need a standard driver’s license to legally ride a moped on public roads.
How to Get a West Virginia Moped License
Since West Virginia requires a valid driver’s license to ride a moped, you’ll usually need to:
- Visit your local DMV.
- Complete an application and provide proof of ID.
- Pass the necessary exams.
- Pay the license fee.
Learn how to get your West Virginia motorcycle license.
West Virginia Moped Registration & Insurance
The WV DMV requires you to title and register your moped, and display a license plate when riding on public roads.
Registered moped must also carry insurance.
Learn more about:
Many of the major motorcycle insurance providers will also offer coverage for smaller bikes, scooters, and mopeds.
Regardless of the West Virginia requirements, it’s always a smart idea to have insurance coverage when you ride any type of vehicle on public roads.
Be sure to compare quotes from a few different providers to get the best rates.
Learn more about moped insurance.
Note that some cities and local jurisdictions may have additional regulations for moped riders. (i.e. roadway restrictions, registration requirements, etc.). Be sure to check with your local Department of Motor Vehicles/authorities to make sure you and your moped are street legal.
For official information, up-to-date fees, and instructions, please contact your local county West Virginia DMV office.
Find more information about scooter and mopeds here.