ATTENTION: Do you have the coverage you need for your powersports vehicles? Compare rates to find the best deal on insurance.
Please enter your zip to get started:
Ready to go snowmobiling in Alaska? It’s a good idea to familiarize yourself with the laws regarding snowmobile registration, permits, and other rules.
Whether you’re an Alaska resident or an out-of-state visitor planning to ride your snowmobile during your stay, we’ve compiled the information you need.
For more information and other details regarding snowmobiles, trails, and more, please visit: https://doa.alaska.gov/dmv/reg/snow.htm
Alaska Snowmobile Registration Requirements
You are required to register your new or used snowmobile.
Alaska snowmobiles can be registered for periods of 2 years, 4 years, or 6 years.
If you’re buying a snowmobile from a dealer, the dealership will often take care of the registration paperwork and process for you.
If you’ve purchased a used snowmobile, you’ll need to submit the registration application and paperwork yourself.
To register a snowmobile in Alaska, you’ll need:
- To visit your local AK DMV office.
- To complete a Title & Registration Application.
- Provide a bill of sale, a warranty card, a dealer purchase order, or an affidavit of sale.
- To pay your snowmobile registration fees.
Alaska Snowmobile Decals
Once you register your snowmobile, the Alaska DMV will provide you with registration decals for your sled.
The decal contains your registration number and must be placed on the side of the tunnel where it is visible when the rider is seated in a normal position.
You’ll also need to display your current registration tab each time you renew your snowmobile stickers.
Alaska Snowmobile Registration Cost
You can register your snowmobile for periods of 2 to 6 years. The cost of snowmobile decals in Alaska are as follows:
- 2-year registration: $10.
- 4-year registration: $20.
- 6-year registration: $30.
Most of your registration fees are used to fund Alaska snowmobile trail grants which are awarded to local snowmobile clubs and used for new trails, trail maintenance, and snowmobile safety education.
Snowmobile Laws in Alaska
Trail permits are generally not required for Alaska residents nor out-of-state visitors.
While snowmobiles do require registration, an insurance policy is not typically required. Though, liability insurance for your sled is a smart choice.
A valid driver’s license is also not a requirement to ride a snowmobile on most trails.
Riding a snowmobile under the influence of drugs or alcohol carries the same penalties and fines as a DUI in a car in Alaska.
Alaska requires that snowmobiles be equipped with the following:
- Lights and reflectors.
- A throttle.
- Mufflers and emissions control.
- A rear snowflap.
- Protective shield covering any moving parts.
- Side reflectors.
- Spark arrester.
Normal Alaska speed limits apply to snowmobiles when crossing the right of way of a public road or highway.
In Alaska snowmobiles cannot be driven:
- On a roadway or shoulder of the road.
- On a sidewalk or bike path.
- In the median of a highway.
You are permitted to ride:
- At the bottom of or outside the slope of a ditch.
- Father than 3 feet from the edge of the road.
- In the same direction of traffic in the lane closest to you when riding at night.
Be sure to also check the rules, regulations, and fees for the Alaska snowmobile trails you plan on riding. Local laws and regulations may vary.
Regardless of whether a particular state or trail requires it, snowmobile operators and passengers should always wear the proper safety equipment and helmets while riding.
Never ride a snowmobile under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
Failing to obey the snowmobile laws of Alaska and the local jurisdiction may result in tickets, fines, and penalties.
Check out some of these other great snowmobile resources from MotorcycleZombies.com:
Snowmobile Pre-Ride Inspections