Ready to go snowmobiling in Idaho? It’s a good idea to familiarize yourself with the laws regarding snowmobile registration, permits, and other rules.
Whether you’re an Idaho resident or an out-of-state visitor planning to ride your snowmobile during your stay, we’ve compiled the information you need.
With over 7,200 miles of groomed snowmobile trails to enjoy, you’ll want to be sure to comply with the state’s permit requirements.
For more information and other details regarding snowmobiles, trails, and more, please visit: https://parksandrecreation.idaho.gov/
Idaho Snowmobile Registration Requirements
Both Idaho residents and visitors are required to register and permit their snowmobiles each year.
Snowmobile certificates of number a valid from November 1 through the following October 31.
Snowmobile registrations are valid for 1 year or 2 years, and should be renewed by November 1.
When purchasing from a dealership, the dealer will typically take care of the snowmobile registration and titling process for you.
To title your used snowmobile, you’ll need to:
- Visit your local county assessor’s office.
- Transfer the certificate of number within 15 days of the sale.
- Pay the $4.50 title transfer fee.
Snowmobile registrations and permits can be purchased and renewed online or in person at an authorized vendor. To purchase your permits online, visit: https://parksandrecreation.idaho.gov/registration-permits/
When you purchase or renew a permit online, you’ll receive a temporary registration that is valid for up to 60 days.
Idaho Snowmobile Registration Cost
The fees for ID snowmobile permits are as follows:
- 1-year resident registration: $45.50
- 1-year non-resident permit: $59.50.
- 2-year resident registration: $89.50.
- 2-year non-resident permit: $117.50.
Where to place your ID snowmobile decal?
Decals should be placed on both sides of the upper-front cowling of your sled.
Snowmobile Laws in Idaho
Here are some rules to keep in mind while snowmobiling in Idaho.
Obey all posted signs and trail markings.
When riding with others, ride in a single file and pass other snowmobiles on the left.
You should only ride with a passenger if your sled is designed to carry one.
Riders under 16 years old must be supervised by an adult.
Be sure to also check the rules, regulations, and fees for the Idaho snowmobile trails you plan on riding. Local laws and regulations may vary.
Regardless of whether a particular state or trail requires it, snowmobile operators and passengers should always wear the proper safety equipment and helmets while riding.
Never ride a snowmobile under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
Failing to obey the snowmobile laws of Idaho and the local jurisdiction may result in tickets, fines, and penalties.
Check out some of these other great snowmobile resources from MotorcycleZombies.com: