Do you have the coverage you need for your powersports vehicles?
Now is a great time to compare quotes to see if you qualify for a lower rate. Why pay more for insurance if you don't have to? Switch today and save!
⚠️ ATTENTION: Get the best coverage at the lowest price for all your vehicles. Click below for a free insurance quote.
Please answer the questions below to get started:
Ready to go snowmobiling in Maine? It’s a good idea to familiarize yourself with the laws regarding snowmobile registration, permits, and other rules.
Whether you’re a Maine resident or an out-of-state visitor planning to ride your snowmobile during your stay, we’ve compiled the information you need.
There are over 14,000 miles of groomed snowmobile trails in the state of Maine, but you’ll need to be sure to obey the state’s laws and regulations to enjoy them.
For more information and other details regarding snowmobiles, trails, and more, please visit: https://www.maine.gov/ifw/atv-snowmobile/snowmobile/index.html
Maine Snowmobile Registration Requirements
Snowmobiles are registered through the Maine Department of Inland Fisheries and Wildlife.
Snowmobile registration must be renewed each year and expire on June 30.
You should renew your registration on or after June 1st.
For Maine residents, new snowmobile registration can be applied for through an approved registration agent of the MDIFW office in Augusta.
To apply, you’ll need:
- Proof of ownership.
- A completed Snowmobile Registration Application: https://www.maine.gov/ifw/docs/atv-snow-boat%20reg%20applicaton.pdf
- Payment for your registration fee.
Out-of-state visitors can apply for their Maine snowmobile registration online: https://moses.informe.org/online/atv_snow/index.htm
Residents can renew their snowmobile registration:
- Online: https://apps1.web.maine.gov/online/atv_snow/index.htm
- In person.
- By mail.
When you renew, you’ll receive a temporary receipt that you can use as proof of registration. Your permanent decals should arrive within 30 days.
Maine Snowmobile Registration Cost
Fees for Maine snowmobile registration are as follows:
- 1-year resident snowmobile registration: $56
- 1-year non-resident registration: $120
- 10-day non-resident: $100
- 3-day non-resident: $75
Your snowmobile registration fees are used to maintain Maine’s snowmobile trail system.
Snowmobile Laws in Maine
To enjoy the state’s snowmobile trails and stay safe, it’s important to follow the Maine snowmobiling laws and regulations.
All riders under 18 years old are required to wear a helmet.
Riders under 10 years of age must be accompanied by an adult.
Riders under 14 years old may not cross any public road.
Riding a snowmobile under the influence of drugs or alcohol will carry the same penalties as a DUI in an automobile.
Snowmobiles are prohibited from being operated within 200 feet of a house, hospital nursing home, or church.
Headlights, tail lights, and mufflers are required equipment for snowmobiles in Maine.
Be sure to also check the rules, regulations, and fees for the Maine snowmobile trails you plan on riding. Local laws and regulations may vary.
Regardless of whether a particular state or trail requires it, snowmobile operators and passengers should always wear the proper safety equipment and helmets while riding.
Never ride a snowmobile under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
Failing to obey the snowmobile laws of Maine and the local jurisdiction may result in tickets, fines, and penalties.
Check out some of these other great snowmobile resources from MotorcycleZombies.com: