ATTENTION: Do you have the coverage you need for your powersports vehicles? Compare rates to find the best deal on insurance.
Please enter your zip to get started:
Ready to go snowmobiling in Massachusetts? It’s a good idea to familiarize yourself with the laws regarding snowmobile registration, permits, and other rules.
Whether you’re a Massachusetts resident or an out-of-state visitor planning to ride your snowmobile during your stay, we’ve compiled the information you need.
For more information and other details regarding snowmobiles, trails, and more, please visit: https://www.mass.gov/atv-and-snowmobile-registration
Massachusetts Snowmobile Registration Requirements
All snowmobiles must be registered to ride in Massachusetts.
This rule applies to both residents of Massachusetts and out-of-state visitors.
First time snowmobile registrations can be completed in person or by mail at one of the 5 Boat, ATV, and Snowmobile Registration Bureau locations.
Address are listed here: https://www.mass.gov/orgs/boat-and-recreation-vehicle-registration-and-titling-bureau
To register your snowmobile, you’ll need:
- A completed Snowmobile Registration Application: https://www.mass.gov/doc/boat-atv-and-snowmobile-registration-and-titling-application/download
- A Bill of Sale.
- Proof of sales tax paid.
- A copy of the MCO.
- The snowmobile VIN.
- A credit/debit card or check for your registration fee made payable to the Commonwealth of Massachusetts.
Registration must be renewed every 1 or 2 years. You should renew your registration at least 1 month before your renewal date.
You can renew your registration online, by mail, or in person. To renew online, visit: https://www.mass.gov/forms/boat-and-off-highway-vehicle-registration-renewal
Massachusetts Snowmobile Registration Cost
The Massachusetts snowmobile registration fees are as follows:
- 2-year snowmobile registration (MA resident): $44
- 1-year snowmobile registration (non-resident): $33
- 1 time vintage snowmobile fee: $44
- Transfer of registration: $16.50
- Duplicate decals: $5.50 each
Snowmobile Laws in Massachusetts
You must always carry your registration card and display your valid snowmobile decals while riding.
Riders under 18 years old are required to complete an approved safety course.
All riders are required to wear a DOT-approved helmet.
Snowmobiles must be equipped with the following:
- Headlight and taillight.
Be sure to also check the rules, regulations, and fees for the Massachusetts snowmobile trails you plan on riding. Local laws and regulations may vary.
Regardless of whether a particular state or trail requires it, snowmobile operators and passengers should always wear the proper safety equipment and helmets while riding.
Never ride a snowmobile under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
Failing to obey the snowmobile laws of Massachusetts and the local jurisdiction may result in tickets, fines, and penalties.
Check out some of these other great snowmobile resources from MotorcycleZombies.com:
Snowmobile Pre-Ride Inspections