Minnesota Snowmobile Registration, Permits, Laws

ATTENTION: Taking care of a task for your motorcycle? You should be prepared to satisfy any insurance requirements.

Please enter your zip code below to get started.

Ready to go snowmobiling in Minnesota? It’s a good idea to familiarize yourself with the laws regarding snowmobile registration, permits, and other rules. 

Whether you’re a Minnesota resident or an out-of-state visitor planning to ride your snowmobile during your stay, we’ve compiled the information you need. 

With over 22,000 miles of groomed trails, Minnesota is home to some of the largest space for snowmobiling in the country! 

For more information and other details regarding snowmobiles, trails, and more, please visit:  https://www.dnr.state.mn.us/licenses/snowmobile/trailpermit.html 

Minnesota Snowmobile Registration Requirements

Minnesota snowmobiles must be registered and have a valid trail sticker. 

To register your snowmobile, you’ll need to:

MN snowmobile registrations are valid for 3 years and expire on June 30th. 

You can renew your snowmobile registration by mail with your renewal notice or online at: https://www.dnr.state.mn.us/licenses/online-sales.html 

Registration decals should be placed on each side of the cowling at least 12 inches above the ground. 

Minnesota Snowmobile Trail Sticker

For MN residents, the trail sticker and registration decal have been combined. 

When you renew your snowmobile registration, the annual cost of the trail sticker will be included in your renewal fees. You’ll receive a single decal to display on your sled. 

If you are an out-of-state visitor, you’ll need to purchase a MN trail sticker. 

Trail stickers are valid from November 1 through June 30 each year. 

Trail permits can be purchased:

Minnesota Snowmobile Registration Cost

The MN snowmobile registration and trail permit fees are as follows:

  • 3-year trail use registration: $105 + $8.50 issuing fee.
  • 3-year non-trail use registration: $45 + $8.50 issuing fee.
  • Trail use registration renewal: $105 + $6 issuing fee.
  • Non-trail use renewal: $45 + $6 issuing fee. 
  • Collector snowmobile registration: $6 + $8.50 issuing fee. 
  • Duplicate registration card: $10 + $6 issuing fee. 
  • Annual trail sticker: $50 + $1 issuing fee. 
  • Trail sticker penalty: $70 + $1 issuing fee. 

Snowmobile Laws in Minnesota

All riders under 18 years old are required to wear a DOT-approved helmet. 

Riders born after 1976 are required to complete a snowmobile safety course if they do not hold a valid driver’s license with a snowmobile indicator. 

Snowmobiles in Minnesota must feature:

  • Headlight.
  • Tail Light. 
  • Brakes. 
  • Reflectors. 
  • Muffler. 

It is illegal to operate a snowmobile at over 50 mph on any public lands or waters. 

It is illegal to ride faster than the posted speed limit of the trail. 

Be sure to also check the rules, regulations, and fees for the Minnesota snowmobile trails you plan on riding. Local laws and regulations may vary. 

Regardless of whether a particular state or trail requires it, snowmobile operators and passengers should always wear the proper safety equipment and helmets while riding. 

Never ride a snowmobile under the influence of drugs or alcohol. 

Failing to obey the snowmobile laws of Minnesota and the local jurisdiction may result in tickets, fines, and penalties. 

Check out some of these other great snowmobile resources from MotorcycleZombies.com:

How to Ride a Snowmobile

Snowmobile Pre-Ride Inspections

Snowmobile Helmets

Snowmobile Cost

Snowmobile Insurance