Ready to go snowmobiling in Nebraska? It’s a good idea to familiarize yourself with the laws regarding snowmobile registration, permits, and other rules.
Whether you’re a Nebraska resident or an out-of-state visitor planning to ride your snowmobile during your stay, we’ve compiled the information you need.
For more information and other details regarding snowmobiles, trails, and more, please visit: https://dmv.nebraska.gov/dvr/reg/snowmobile-registration
Nebraska Snowmobile Registration Requirements
All snowmobiles must be registered to ride on public trails, lands, and private property that you do not own.
To register your snowmobile, you’ll need to:
- Visit your local county registration office.
- Complete a Snowmobile Registration and Decal Application: https://dmv.nebraska.gov/sites/dmv.nebraska.gov/files/doc/dvr/forms/snowmobile.pdf
- Provide proof of ownership.
- Pay the registration fee.
NE snowmobile registration is valid for 2 years, and expires on the last day of September of the second year after you apply.
The registration decal should be placed in the upper right half of the snowmobile cowl.
Nebraska Snowmobile Registration Cost
The cost to register your snowmobile in Nebraska is $16 for 2 years.
Snowmobile Laws in Nebraska
All riders must wear a helmet to ride a snowmobile in Nebraska.
Be sure to also check the rules, regulations, and fees for the Nebraska snowmobile trails you plan on riding. Local laws and regulations may vary.
Regardless of whether a particular state or trail requires it, snowmobile operators and passengers should always wear the proper safety equipment and helmets while riding.
Never ride a snowmobile under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
Failing to obey the snowmobile laws of Nebraska and the local jurisdiction may result in tickets, fines, and penalties.
Check out some of these other great snowmobile resources from MotorcycleZombies.com: