ATTENTION: Do you have the coverage you need for your powersports vehicles? Compare rates to find the best deal on insurance.
Please enter your zip to get started:
Ready to go snowmobiling in Nevada? It’s a good idea to familiarize yourself with the laws regarding snowmobile registration, permits, and other rules.
Whether you’re a Nevada resident or an out-of-state visitor planning to ride your snowmobile during your stay, we’ve compiled the information you need.
For more information and other details regarding snowmobiles, trails, and more, please visit: https://ohv.nv.gov/register
Nevada Snowmobile Registration Requirements
In Nevada all snowmobiles must be registered through the DMV.
If you’ve purchased your snowmobile after July 1, 2012, you will also need to get a title for it.
Registration and title application can be submitted to the NV DMV by mail.
To register, you’ll need the following:
- Proof of purchase.
- Proof of ownership.
- Proof of sales tax payment, if applicable.
- Proof of VIN from a license NV dealer.
- Registration and title application.
Your application, documents, and fees should be mailed to:
Nevada Department of Motor Vehicles
555 Wright Way
Carson City, NV 89711
If your snowmobile is registered in another state and you are visiting Nevada, you’ll be able to ride without a Nevada registration as long as you are not staying for more than 15 days.
Your snowmobile registration can be renewed online: https://dmvapp.nv.gov/dmv/vr/ohv/registrationrenewal/renewal_input.aspx
Registration decals should be placed on the left side of your snowmobile in a clearly visible location.
Nevada Snowmobile Registration Cost
Fees for Nevada snowmobile registration and title are as follows:
- Annual Registration: $20.
- Late fee: $10.
- Title fee: $28.25.
- Title fee (out-of-state snowmobile): $43.25.
- VIN Assignment: $2.
- Duplicate decal: $5.
- Duplicate title: $20.
- Dealer fees: up to $2.
Snowmobile Laws in Nevada
Nevada snowmobiles must be equipped with headlights, taillights, a rear reflector, a muffler, and a spark arrestor.
Be sure to also check the rules, regulations, and fees for the Nevada snowmobile trails you plan on riding. Local laws and regulations may vary.
Regardless of whether a particular state or trail requires it, snowmobile operators and passengers should always wear the proper safety equipment and helmets while riding.
Never ride a snowmobile under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
Failing to obey the snowmobile laws of Nevada and the local jurisdiction may result in tickets, fines, and penalties.
Check out some of these other great snowmobile resources from MotorcycleZombies.com:
Snowmobile Pre-Ride Inspections