Do you have the coverage you need for your powersports vehicles?
Now is a great time to compare quotes to see if you qualify for a lower rate. Why pay more for insurance if you don't have to? Switch today and save!
⚠️ ATTENTION: Get the best coverage at the lowest price for all your vehicles. Click below for a free insurance quote.
Please answer the questions below to get started:
Ready to go snowmobiling in New Hampshire? It’s a good idea to familiarize yourself with the laws regarding snowmobile registration, permits, and other rules.
Whether you’re a New Hampshire resident or an out-of-state visitor planning to ride your snowmobile during your stay, we’ve compiled the information you need.
For more information and other details regarding snowmobiles, trails, and more, please visit: https://www.wildlife.state.nh.us/ohrv/registration.html
New Hampshire Snowmobile Registration Requirements
Both residents and non-residents are required to register their snowmobiles through the NH Fish and Game Department.
Titles and bill of sale are not required for snowmobiles.
To register a snowmobile, you’ll need to:
- Visit a registration agent (http://wildnh.com/ohrv/agents.html).
- Current year applications can be found here: https://www.wildlife.state.nh.us/ohrv/registration.html
- Be at least 18 years old.
- Provide the snowmobile year, make, model, engine displacement, colors, and VIN.
- Pay the annual registration fee.
Snowmobile registration is valid from 5/1 to 4/30 each year.
If you would like to submit your application by mail, you can request to do so by contacting NH Fish and Game at (603) 271-3422.
You’ll receive 2 registration decals each year.
You’ll need to place the decals on each side of the snowmobile’s forward cowling or on the windshield.
New Hampshire Snowmobile Registration Cost
New Hampshire snowmobile registration fees are as follows:
- Annual resident registration for snowmobile club members: $99
- Annual resident registration for non-club members: $129
- Annual non-resident registration for snowmobile club members: $119
- Annual non-resident registration for non-club members: $149
- Antique snowmobile registration (permanent): $129
Snowmobile Laws in New Hampshire
Youth model snowmobiles (125cc or under) are not required to be registered if the operator is under 12 years old and accompanied by a licensed adult.
All riders under 18 years old are required to wear a helmet and eye protection.
Riders under 14 years old are required to be accompanied by a licensed adult.
All riders 12 and older must hold a valid driver’s license or a snowmobile safety certificate.
Snowmobiles can be operated at speed of no more than 10 mph within 150 feet of a fishing hole/bobhouse, at trail junctions, in parking lots, or on sidewalks/bridges open to snowmobiles.
On trails with no posted speed limits, the maximum speed is 45 mph.
Be sure to also check the rules, regulations, and fees for the New Hampshire snowmobile trails you plan on riding. Local laws and regulations may vary.
Regardless of whether a particular state or trail requires it, snowmobile operators and passengers should always wear the proper safety equipment and helmets while riding.
Never ride a snowmobile under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
Failing to obey the snowmobile laws of New Hampshire and the local jurisdiction may result in tickets, fines, and penalties.
Check out some of these other great snowmobile resources from MotorcycleZombies.com: