Ready to go snowmobiling in Ohio? It’s a good idea to familiarize yourself with the laws regarding snowmobile registration, permits, and other rules.
Whether you’re an Ohio resident or an out-of-state visitor planning to ride your snowmobile during your stay, we’ve compiled the information you need.
For more information and other details regarding snowmobiles, trails, and more, please visit: https://www.bmv.ohio.gov/vr-firstissuance.aspx
Ohio Snowmobile Registration Requirements
All snowmobiles must be registered to legally ride on Ohio public trails.
To register your snowmobile, you’ll need to:
- Visit your local deputy registrar license office.
- Present proof of ownership.
- Provide a valid ID.
- Complete an application.
- Pay the registration fee.
Snowmobile registrations are valid for 3 years.
Registrations expire on December 31 of the 3rd year of registration.
If you are an out-of-state visitor, you can use your snowmobile registration from your state and purchase a 1-year temporary registration for Ohio.
Ohio Snowmobile Registration Cost
In Ohio, snowmobile registration costs $34.75 for a 3-year period.
A non-resident temporary permit costs $14.75 for 1 year.
Snowmobile Laws in Ohio
In Ohio, you can only ride a snowmobile if you have a valid driver’s license.
Riders under 16 must be accompanied by a licensed adult.
All riders are required to wear an approved helmet.
Be sure to also check the rules, regulations, and fees for the Ohio snowmobile trails you plan on riding. Local laws and regulations may vary.
Regardless of whether a particular state or trail requires it, snowmobile operators and passengers should always wear the proper safety equipment and helmets while riding.
Never ride a snowmobile under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
Failing to obey the snowmobile laws of Ohio and the local jurisdiction may result in tickets, fines, and penalties.
Check out some of these other great snowmobile resources from MotorcycleZombies.com: