ATTENTION: Do you have the coverage you need for your powersports vehicles? Compare rates to find the best deal on insurance.
Please enter your zip to get started:
Ready to go snowmobiling in Utah? It’s a good idea to familiarize yourself with the laws regarding snowmobile registration, permits, and other rules.
Whether you’re a Utah resident or an out-of-state visitor planning to ride your snowmobile during your stay, we’ve compiled the information you need.
For more information and other details regarding snowmobiles, trails, and more, please visit: https://dmv.utah.gov/vehicles/snowmobiles
Utah Snowmobile Registration Requirements
Snowmobiles with model year 1988 or newer are required to be titled and registered to be operated in the state of Utah.
Snowmobile registrations must be renewed each year.
To title your snowmobile, you’ll need to:
- Complete a title application: http://tax.utah.gov/forms/current/tc-656.pdf
- Provide proof of ID.
- Provide proof of ownership.
To register your snowmobile, you’ll need to complete a registration form and pay the registration fee.
Registration decals should be placed on the left side of the front of the tunnel/hood.
Non-Resident Snowmobile Permits
If you are not a resident of Utah, you’ll need to purchase a non-resident OHV permit.
You can purchase one online: http://utahstateparks.reserveamerica.com/showPage.do?name=common&commonPath=/htm/OHVPasses_UT.jsp
When you apply, you’ll need to provide proof of your out-of-state residency and proof that the snowmobile is not owned by a resident of Utah.
Non-resident permits are valid for 12 months from the purchase date.
Utah Snowmobile Registration Cost
Utah snowmobile registration fees are as follows:
- Annual snowmobile registration: $22
- Non-resident OHV permit: $30.
Snowmobile Laws in Utah
Riders under 18 years old are required to wear a helmet on public lands.
Riders under 18 years old must be supervised by an adult if they do not hold a valid driver’s license.
Be sure to also check the rules, regulations, and fees for the Utah snowmobile trails you plan on riding. Local laws and regulations may vary.
Regardless of whether a particular state or trail requires it, snowmobile operators and passengers should always wear the proper safety equipment and helmets while riding.
Never ride a snowmobile under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
Failing to obey the snowmobile laws of Utah and the local jurisdiction may result in tickets, fines, and penalties.
Check out some of these other great snowmobile resources from MotorcycleZombies.com:
Snowmobile Pre-Ride Inspections