⚠️ ATTENTION: Are all your vehicles covered? Get the best coverage at the lowest price. Click below for a free insurance quote.
Please enter your ZIP to get started:
Ready to go snowmobiling in Vermont? It’s a good idea to familiarize yourself with the laws regarding snowmobile registration, permits, and other rules.
Whether you’re a Vermont resident or an out-of-state visitor planning to ride your snowmobile during your stay, we’ve compiled the information you need.
For more information and other details regarding snowmobiles, trails, and more, please visit: https://dmv.vermont.gov/registrations/new/off-road-vehicles/registering-your-snowmobile
Vermont Snowmobile Registration Requirements
Snowmobiles in Vermont require registrations and trail permits.
Snowmobiles that are 15 years old or newer can be titled.
To apply, you’ll need to:
- Complete a snowmobile registration and title application: https://dmv.vermont.gov/sites/dmv/files/documents/VD-038-Snowmobile_Registration_Tax_Title.pdf
- Provide proof of ownership (previous title, MCO).
- Provide the Bill of Sale.
- Pay the registration and title fees.
Snowmobile registration expires each years on the last day of August.
You can renew your snowmobile registration in person, by mail, over the phone, or online. To renew online, visit: https://dmv.vermont.gov/mydmv/renew-vehicle-registration
Vermont Association of Snow Travelers Decals
All snowmobile riders, Vermont residents and out-of-state visitors, are required to purchase an annual VAST trail pass.
You can purchase a pass online at: https://vtvast.org/online-tma-purchase.html
Non-Resident Snowmobile Registration
If you are not a resident of Vermont, you can operate your snowmobile as long as it has a valid registration from another state and a valid Vermont Association of Snow Travelers permit.
Vermont Snowmobile Registration Cost
The fees for your snowmobile title and registration in Vermont are as follows:
- Resident registration: $28.
- Non-resident registration: $36.
- Antique snowmobile: $50.
- Registration transfer: $3.
- Replacement registration: $6.
- Title fee: $22.
Vermont trail pass fees are as follows:
- Vermont registration full season trail pass: $185.
- Out-of-state registration full season trail pass: $225.
- 3-day trail pass: $80.
Fees are subject to change.
Snowmobile Laws in Vermont
All snowmobiles in Vermont must carry liability insurance.
You must join a local club to use snowmobile trails in Vermont.
Riders born after July 1, 1983 are required to complete a snowmobile safety course.
The maximum speed for a snowmobile operated on state land is 35 mph.
Snowmobiles must be equipped with:
- Headlight and taillight.
- Windshield or face and eye protection.
All riders using the VAST trails must wear a helmet.
Be sure to also check the rules, regulations, and fees for the Vermont snowmobile trails you plan on riding. Local laws and regulations may vary.
Regardless of whether a particular state or trail requires it, snowmobile operators and passengers should always wear the proper safety equipment and helmets while riding.
Never ride a snowmobile under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
Failing to obey the snowmobile laws of Vermont and the local jurisdiction may result in tickets, fines, and penalties.
Check out some of these other great snowmobile resources from MotorcycleZombies.com: