Ready to go snowmobiling in Wisconsin? It’s a good idea to familiarize yourself with the laws regarding snowmobile registration, permits, and other rules.
Whether you’re a Wisconsin resident or an out-of-state visitor planning to ride your snowmobile during your stay, we’ve compiled the information you need.
As the birthplace of snowmobiling, Wisconsin is a state with the largest amount of groomed trails (over 25,000 miles) and some of the highest number of registered sleds.
For more information and other details regarding snowmobiles, trails, and more, please visit: https://dnr.wisconsin.gov/
Wisconsin Snowmobile Registration Requirements
Wisconsin snowmobile registration is valid for 3 years and expires on June 30th.
You can apply for your snowmobile registration:
- Online: https://gowild.wi.gov/
- At a DNR service location.
- By mail: https://dnr.wi.gov/files/PDF/forms/9400/9400-210.pdf
If you’re purchasing a snowmobile from a WI dealership, the dealer will take care of the registration paperwork for you.
You can renew your snowmobile registration:
- Online: https://gowild.wi.gov/products/quicksale/renewals
- At a local DNR sales agent.
- By mail.
Non-residents are required to purchase a non-resident trail pass to ride an out-of-state sled in Wisconsin.
If your snowmobile will be ridden in Wisconsin for more than 15 consecutive days, you are also required to register it.
Wisconsin Snowmobile Trail Passes
In addition to your registration, you’ll also need to purchase a snowmobile trail pass if you plan to ride on any snowmobile trails within the state.
Trail passes are valid for one season. They expire on June 30th of each year.
Wisconsin residents who are snowmobile club members can purchase their trail pass through the AWSC website: https://www.awsc.org/
Non-residents and non-club members can purchase a trail pass online here: https://gowild.wi.gov/
When you purchase your pass, you’ll receive a temporary receipt that is valid for up to 21 days.
The trail pass sticker should be placed on your snowmobile’s windshield.
Wisconsin Snowmobile Registration Cost
WI snowmobile registration fees are as follows:
- Public registration: $30 per 3 years.
- Private registration (can only be ridden on the owners’ property): $0.
- Antique snowmobile registration: First time $20, 3-year renewal $5.
WI Snowmobile Trail Pass Fees:
- Snowmobile Club Members: $10.
- Non-club members: $30.
- Non-residents: $50.
Snowmobile Laws in Wisconsin
Riders aged 12 and up and born after 1984 are required to hold a snowmobile safety certificate.
Lights, reflectors, brakes, and a working exhaust system are all required for snowmobiles in Wisconsin.
Be sure to also check the rules, regulations, and fees for the Wisconsin snowmobile trails you plan on riding. Local laws and regulations may vary.
Regardless of whether a particular state or trail requires it, snowmobile operators and passengers should always wear the proper safety equipment and helmets while riding.
Never ride a snowmobile under the influence of drugs or alcohol.
Failing to obey the snowmobile laws of Wisconsin and the local jurisdiction may result in tickets, fines, and penalties.
Check out some of these other great snowmobile resources from MotorcycleZombies.com: